Steak & Avocado Salad

Summertime is the best time for fresh salads. This one was bursting with flavor and not really created for lettuce- although I added some. To me anything with avocado is going to be worth eating. This one I made especially for Chris since I don’t eat steak or tomatoes, but I did make a version for me. You have got to try this one! You won’t be dissapointed.

Ingredients: Any strip steak for pan searing. Since I only needed a little I purchased a small strip steak. Romaine, strips of yellow pepper, 1/2 t. of lime zest, cherry tomatoes halved, black beans, red onions and avocado. The dressing was a little olive oil, cayenne pepper, minced garlic, S&P and lime juice wisked separately and then poured and mixed last.

Approximate cost for one serving: $6 (because of the steak), my version with chicken $5

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Steak & Avocado Salad

  1. kat says:

    That looks amazing!! Such a healthy salad! It’s a plus because love steak! Thanks for sharing! I’m new to blogging and love that there is a foodie community! If you have time, please check out my blog: http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/. And of course! Any advice would be great 🙂

  2. I adore fresh, summery salads like this. So much flavor and crunch going on. 😀

Leave a Reply

