Bean Burritoes

Bean  burritos are also a passion of mine(and my sisters). We are obsessed with bean burritos, jokes revolve around them and they have been a popular part of conversation over the years. We grew up on bean burritos and I’m kind of a rice and beans girl anyway. I love beans, rice, bread and salt – rather than meat or sweets. I always have, beans are ingrained in me deeply somehow. I make dips from beans, put beans in sides, put it in with sandwiches and create whole dishes with beans. Bean madness is what it is.

But, bean burritos are usually a big part of my lunch option during the summer especially. I have made them from vegetarian refried beans, but my favorite is made with unsalted black beans. Another hearty option I make frequently is mixing both refried with whole beans or adding in seasoned rice with whole black beans. I usually carmelize some chopped onions, and then saute the beans and eat them like that. I always eat them with corn tortillas. Corn tortillas are more healthy than flour tortillas and I think the taste exceeds the flour tortillas. Corn tortillas are also considerably thinner than flour tortillas as I am always looking for good ratios with my food too. I don’t like too much bread anywhere, especially on a sandwich – but that’s another subject all together I’ll touch on later.

Ingredients: iceberg lettuce, cilantro, onions, black beans, hot sauce, avocado, shredded cheese and sour cream.  (If you really want a treat you can *mince some garlic in with the onions, *saute cilantro in with the beans, and also *add tomatillos in with the onions, * add some chopped mango in with the beans at the end – there are too many yummy options!)

Approximate cost: $2.60

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

