SUSHI!

We love sushi! Many times when we go out if something is really good (or really bad) I will try and come home and try to copy the recipe for the dish or commonly fix whatever dish we had somewhere that  sounded good on the menu but failed on the plate.

However, sushi is something I definetly wanted to try to make although I expected would be difficult to replicate the heavenly creations we consume rapidly at our favorite sushi restaurant. This was my first time making sushi, and we were both surprised at how good it was. It actually did taste something like our local sushi hotspot that we know and love so much. This excited me so much knowing one day soon I might be able to copy what we crave(usually) constantly. Now, the only thing about these first-time rolls I didn’t like, is they were slightly too big for my taste, and had too much rice. So next time I would render that and maybe make it with brown rice. (A more healthy alternative.)

Ingredients: Sushi rice, roasted seaweed, red cabbage, cucumber, red onion, ginger, wasabi, avocado, smoked salmon, shrimp, romaine and *cream cheese. 

Approximate cost for this spread: $7

*Chris loves cream cheese in his sushi, so of course I made some with it. If you ask me cream cheese doesn’t belong in sushi – gross! That’s like adding sauces with mayo on top of sushi rolls? I don’t get it. Sushi is supposed to be a healthy dish made with the ultimate fresh fish and vegetables. Why you would start to add sauces and fattening condiments to it is a mystery to me? I like food to remain at its most basic, freshest state allowing you to taste it, not cover it up in sauces. I already learned sushi as it is has alarming amounts of sodium and also surprisingly a high amount of sugar. So going overboard on certain ingredients and ways to prepare it, especially on rolls that are deep fried is something to be aware of. But as always, anything is acceptable in moderation!

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SUSHI!

  1. Naz Kovacs says:

    Sushi is probably our favourite thing to eat out, I haven’t been brave enough to make it myself though! We mistakenly got sushi from Costco once not a good idea!

Leave a Reply

