Eggplant Pizzas

 Every summer for years now I have made little pita pizzas. They are so good and can be made in no time. You can also customize them depending on what you’re in the mood for. 

Some ideas of how I have made them before:

  • Carmelized onions, ham (or pancetta) & gruyère
  • Chicken, onions, green peppers, feta
  • squash, zucchini, portabella, onions, gouda
  • Chicken, spinach, onions, garlic, feta
  • spinach, broccoli, green herbs, white beans, cheese
  • shrimp, onions, ham, herbs, mozzarella
  • many more!

I love fresh eggplant in the summertime. I usually make a mean veggie sandwich we are obsessed with. But it’s so good alone. Last night I made a whole wheat pasta with eggplant and herbs and olive oil and it was a surprising dish I will make again. 

This year, like last year, we are lucky enough to have neighbors that constantly bring over fruits and vegetables from their huge garden. Lately, I’ve been getting a lot of zucchini, squash and eggplant as well as the best tasting cantaloupes.

So for these pizzas, I peeled and sliced the eggplant and sautéed them in pan with olive oil. You usually have to cook them on medium to high heat for about 10 minutes to get them soft. I then sliced them and then added them to a pizza with leftovers and things I wanted on the pizza.

Ingredients: Whole wheat pitas, onions, garlic, herbs, olive oil, mozzarella, white beans, eggplant, feta

Approximate cost for you(since my eggplant was free!): $3.30

Bake at about 375 for about 12 minutes. I like my pizzas extra crispy and crunchy. And, ovens vary, so watch your pizzas – take them out and look at them. You might only prefer 350 at 10 minutes.

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

