Lemon Chicken Saltimbocca

 This is how the chicken should look wrapped in the prosciutto, sautéing in the pan.

 I was craving this dish this week while thinking about what kind of ways I could prepare chicken. I made this earlier in the year with a recipe I found in Cooking Light Magazine. I will always reference recipes that aren’t mine or that are not altered in any way. In my opinion ANY recipe found in this magazine is genius and will never disappoint.

This dish is a very easy, basic one with a punch of flavor. Purchase chicken cutlets, or slice whole boneless chicken breasts in half (or thirds depending on the size). Place 2 or so large sage leaves on top of the chicken cutlets and then wrap the pieces with a piece of prosciutto. It says to wrap the pieces in 2 pieces of prosciutto, but one is plenty. Sauté in a pan for 2 minutes on each side. Remove chicken, keep warm. *For the sauce add 1 T of olive oil to pan. To a bowl add 1/3 C chicken broth, 1/4 c lemon juice and 1/2 t cornstarch and stir until combined then add to pan, bring to a boil stirring constantly. Cook for 1 minute until thickened and then spoon sauce over chicken.

(*My version of that. When you’ve been cooking as long as I have you rarely follow recipes because you already know what works and what is faster. I just used 1/3 cup water (because chicken broth is just another thing to grab at the store usually loaded with sodium. Even if you purchase low sodium or even organic. And whatever you buy in a container is not fresh and will have things added to it! What is chicken broth? It’s juices from the chicken with salt added. That’s what you already have in the pan! So just add 1/3 cup water, and maybe a tiny pinch of salt. I threw in a dash of cornstarch, juice of one lemon(basically a 1/4 c) and mix constantly while it heats. When it’s almost thickened I placed the chicken back in the pan and continued to cook it in the sauce until it was done. In my opinion chicken won’t be done cooking it earlier for 2 minutes on each side?! After that I plated the chicken and poured some whole grain pasta already cooked in the remaining sauce in the pan and mixed. So we had some lemony, olive oil pasta to go with the chicken. YUM!

Ingredients: olive oil, chicken, sage, prosciutto, cornstarch, water, lemon, pasta, salt.

Approximate cost for this entire meal (made 6 servings): $11.50

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lemon Chicken Saltimbocca

  1. wstedeford says:

    I could say the same! Great pics and wonderful blog. I’ve subscribed to keep up with all this delicious food!

  2. Looks great and will certainly try this recipe! Very good blog by theway, great pictures!

Leave a Reply

