Prosciutto Caper Eggplant Pizzas

Yet another great custom pizza created with ingredients I purchased and some leftovers. Once again the neighbors gave us more eggplant. I am a lucky girl! So I decided to make pizzas again since they are so satisfying. This time I made them with capers and prosciutto left over from another recipe. I chopped the eggplants up lazily, but next time I think I will work on presentation and add some sautéed sliced carrots to the top.

For those of you that don’t know what a caper is. Capers are indigenous to Europe and are found most commonly in Italian, French and Greek recipes. They are a bit like olives but  have a more enhanced flavor. They are very salty and usually come in a brine wherever you purchase them. Depending on the dish, you can drain them (since the brine is very salty and vinegary) and use them or pour them in a dish to enhance the flavor. I make a mean lemon caper chicken dish which I will make sometime this week and post.

Ingredients: Whole wheat pitas, olive oil, mozzarella and parmesan cheese, eggplant, prosciutto, capers, garlic, onion and basil.

Approximate cost for one pizza/serving: $3.25

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Prosciutto Caper Eggplant Pizzas

  1. Jane says:

    Hey, thanks for subscribing! I can’t wait to get to know you and your blog. And that pizza looks soooo good 🙂

Leave a Reply

