Lemon Caper Chicken

 As promised, lemon caper chicken. This is an easy dish with a lot to offer in the flavor department. All you need is chicken breasts, some lemons, jar of brined capers and flour. I rarely use white flour anymore for anything, even when I’m baking. I usually come up with my own mixture of white flour, whole wheat flour and soy flour. It’s also not necessary to use butter in dishes anymore. I quit using butter several years ago and now use extra virgin olive oil for everything. The only time I use butter is baking and even then you can find a recipe where it’s no longer needed. When I do get a craving for it on some toast or on certain dishes I use the “I can’t believe it’s not butter” concoction I found. It tastes great, I notice absolutely no difference and its made more healthy. You have to read the tube of butter in the grocery store though because many of them are made with countless oils known to contain GMOS. So read.

So all you need to do is slice the chicken breasts in half. Bread them with the flour mixture and saute them in a pan on fairly high heat for about 3 minutes on both sides. I use just a pat of butter and olive oil. After that remove chicken and keep warm on a plate. Then goes in about 1 to 1 1/2 cups water and bring back up to a boil. It does call for chicken broth, but as I said in another post. Just use water and add a little salt. You should have plenty of chicken bits and broth from the chicken you just cooked. Add the entire jar of capers(you can drain most of the brine out as it is very vinegary and salty!), and add the juice of one lemon. You can put the chicken back in the pan and cook, turning occasionally until it’s done. Maybe 10 minutes, everyone’s oven and temps vary. When the chicken is done put on a plate. Then you can add a tablespoon or so to the pan to thicken whats left into a sauce. I’m not big on sauces so I just made some whole wheat paste and continued cooking it in the pan for all that flavor on my pasta from the olive oil, capers and lemon.

Ingredients: olive oil, boneless chicken breasts, capers, lemon, water, mixture of flours, whole wheat pasta

Approximate cost for this entire meal(made 6 servings): $10.50

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

