Rice Pulp Dish

 For more info on my juice challenge this post refers to click on an earlier post: https://inpursuitofrealfood.wordpress.com/2011/09/01/juice-fast-applepearjuice/

All that juicing made me feel a little guilty since on some of the juices (especially the green ones) a large amount was being thrown into the pulp bin. On my last few juices I saved the pulp from the green ones. I had a great mix of collard greens, kale, chard, lettuce, spinach, carrots and beets. So….

I just made a rice and bean dish out it. Why not waste it, that was a good amount of veggies that could go into something. So I sautéed some fresh veggies and onions and then mixed in the pulp and cooked on high heat for about 15 minutes. Only because there were raw collard, chard, kale and beets and they really need to be heated. I threw in a can of northern beans for protein and then added some Fontina cheese at the end.

A quick word on Lundberg Farms products. (rice pictured above) All of their products are fantastic, I’ve purchased at least six varieties of their rice for over 3 years now and it’s the only rice I will buy. Any product by them is just scrumptious. Their rice cakes are good, they have a risotto line and if you can find their brown rice syrup you won’t be disappointed. They have new rice chips they just came out with that are addicting and most of their products are non-GMO certified.

http://www.lundberg.com/

Ingredients: (Pulp from a Green Juice), brown rice, white beans,onions, green peppers, carrots, olive oil, balsamic and fontina.

Approximate cost/this made a huge bowl/6 servings: $ 6.50

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

