Carrot Corn Pizzas

So, again…lucky me scores fruits and veggies from the neighbor AGAIN. yey! Seriously, the cantaloupe tastes as if its something that’s grown in heavens nestled among crispy chips, dark roasted coffee and white wine. huh? But really, like nothing I’ve ever tasted from the grocery store. Why? The cantaloupes(along with everything else) was probably picked too early or late and then shipped for days on trucks (or weeks if it came from overseas) maybe not temperature regulated, and then finally to you. Doesn’t it make you wonder how fresh it really is and how much nutrients are left in it?

I woke up starved for breakfast last week and that corn was staring right at me. A pita pizza sounded great to me littered with fresh veggies that morning. So I went for it.  I think the photos speak for how it tasted!

Ingredients: Whole wheat pitas, olive oil, corn, carrots, I added a little ham, onions, mix of herbs and a little mozzarella and parmesan on the bottom.

Saute the corn in olive oil with onions, carrots and herbs until almost done. Remember this is going to then bake at a high temperature for around 10 minutes. I usually brush olive oil on the pita for starters and lay a layer of cheese and then put everything else on top. For a treat, if you have cream cheese, a think layer of cream cheese on any pita pizza will really up the flavor!

Bake at around 375 degrees for around 10 minutes. I never preheat my oven either, it’s not neccesary to sit around and wait- this is not a cake. That’s most likely why mine also turns out like it does at 375. If I’m in a huge hurry, I’ve been known to hike that temp up to 400 and above and begin cooking and then slowly bring the temp down if needed. So watch your pizza. As I have said before I like my crust very crunchy, you might not! And, your oven may bake at a hotter level, you don’t want to burn it.

Approximate cost for you (since my corn was free): $ 3.30 for one pizza

TIPS IN THE KITCHEN:

Ever buy fresh corn and wonder what to do with it or how to get it off the cob? This is how you cut it off the cob, stand it up and with a sharp knife begin at the top and cut down, rotating the cob until your done.

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

