Pluots…a 9:30 pm snack

Pluots! When you look up the definition of a pluot you find this:

A pluot is a trademark for varieties of interspecific plum or plumcot developed in the late 20th century by Floyd Zaiger. (?!) Pluot is a registered trademark of Zaiger’s Genetics. ( ah!… scary) Like the aprium, it is a complex cross hybrid of plum and apricot. The fruit’s exterior has smooth skin closely resembling that of a plum. Pluots are noted for their sweetness, their intense flavor, and very juicy pulp. Pluots are also rich in vitamin A.

First thought brought to mind GMOS. Further thought on this brings to mind maybe all the varieties of apples, pears and lettuce-not to mention hybrid roses and mutt dogs. It just depends on how it’s created. It’s totally safe. A better explanation when common sense comes back to play can be found here:

http://evewaspartiallyright.blogspot.com/2011/07/pluots-and-apriums.html

Ok, so as we get older (grimace), we all usually begin starving for some reason around 9-10pm at night. This strangely, didn’t start happening to me until last year. ( I refuse to tell you my age) Only then, I finally understood what all these people were talking about, being hungry until the wee hours of the morning.   So, pluots, oranges and almonds with just a few drops of blue agave is a great snack for late at night. This snack was made and eaten by my husband Chris. The pluots are really juicy, have a really sweet flavor and are really satisfying when you are craving something sweet and cold in the evening.

Oh, um…my 9:30pm snack was 3-ish glasses of white wine.

 

 Approximate cost: $2.20 for this snack bowl

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Health, Snacks & Drinks and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pluots…a 9:30 pm snack

  1. htblackmon says:

    That looks like my kind of snack – yum! I haven’t seen pluots in our area recently, I’ll have to keep my eye out for some. 🙂

    • I’m just now seeing them. Although, in the regular grocery stores they look like regular plums, but if you go elsewhere to organic or speciality stores they are light and dark purple, red and pinks with spots:)

  2. Maura says:

    Thanks for the link! Feel free to drop by my blog and link if you find something you’d like to share. 🙂

Leave a Reply

