Fruit Smoothies!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Smoothies are not only cold and delicious and but are also fast and really nutritious. We usually drink a ton of them in the summer. What prompted us making them? I think everyone has a smoothie shop in their town. I went for a while because it was super convenient and sort of affordable. (not really) But, all of them are usually staffed with teenagers that don’t really care nor understand what they are doing and I suspect they are filled with tons of sugar. If you look up the nutritional facts on them they really aren’t good for you at all. In fact, the nutritional facts kinda resemble a cheeseburger from your local fast food joint. The smoothies I was ordering were different every time I frequented the shop, sometimes with a strange not so good twang and other times were way too sweet to actually be good for you. So we started making them at home several years ago. You can literally put anything in to them and you’ll soon find what you can add to make them better and better every time you blend.

This smoothies ingredients: ice, 2 bananas, a handful of blueberries and strawberries, half a vitamin zero, a couple huge spoons of yogurt, half of an Acai drink, 2 heaping spoons of soy protein and a little blueberry honey.  Yielded 2 glasses, 20 oz. each

Approximate cost for two smoothies: $3.50

Tip: You have to have a good ratio of fruit to liquid to get it to blend and the right consistency to slurp through a straw.

I really like the lighter smoothies (colorwise). Try making one with mango, pineapple, apricots, a banana and soymilk or coconut milk, pineapple juice and honey or agave. Really good!

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food, Snacks & Drinks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fruit Smoothies!

  1. Colline says:

    We aet fruit smoothies every morning. I omit the yoghurt, but they taste just as good without.

Leave a Reply

