Make a blue smoothie today…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think everyone knows how good blueberries are for you. Want a reminder?

Blueberries rank second to strawberries in popularity. They aren’t only really popular but also contain one of the highest antioxidant levels of all fruits, veggies and herbs. Antioxidants are very important in that they keep us healthy by combatting free radicals that can damage our cell structures. Blueberries also contain 14 mg of vitamin C in just one cup, are a good source of fiber and help keep you energized.

This smoothie was a good snack/lunch for today. It was a crunchy one too-which I love!

Ingredients to throw in a blender: small scoop of ice, 2 scoops of plain organic yogurt, 2 scoops of soy protein, a couple scoops of rolled oats and rye, 1 t. flax seeds, a splash of vanilla almond milk, 1 banana, 1/2 c blueberries (or more) and I put in a huge spoonful of blueberry honey! Yielded about 18 oz, one tall glass

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Approximate cost: $3.85

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food, Snacks & Drinks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Make a blue smoothie today…

  1. Naz Kovacs says:

    Blueberries have got to be my favourite! I always have a stash in the freezer 🙂

Leave a Reply

