Oh so good veggie hummus wraps

 Everyone knows hummus is a popular middle eastern dish usually served with pita bread. Hummus is also high in vitamins C and B6, folate and iron. The chickpea, also called a garbanzo bean are a source of protein and fiber and are common in vegetarian diets for that reason. The  tahini (sesame seeds!) it’s made with are another great source of amino acids. It’s really easy to pick some up at any store, but in my opinion its difficult to find a good one. Most of them taste funny, so that’s why its better to make your own. If you read labels you will also find industrial packaged hummus is really not that healthy.

So my recipe I use contains:

  • 5 garlic cloves
  • 2 cans of organic garbanzo beans(water reserved)
  • 1/3 cup tahihi (I used toasted sesame oil) 1/3 c= about 6 tablespoons
  • juice from 1/2 lemon, 6 T( a juicy one! You might need a whole lemon)
  • and juice from the cans to get a good consistency
  • 8-10 dashes of hot sauce

Throw all that into a food processor and its done. This yields about 3 cups. I like to saute my garlic and chickpeas in olive oil over high heat for at 10 minutes stirring occasionally.

After that I used a bag of ‘slaw’ (cole slaw mixes) . You can find many mixes, but I used green and purple cabbage, carrots and brocilli-to that I added chopped cilantro and parsley. On a wheat tortilla, slather a good amount of hummus all over, then add a bunch of the veggie mix and then wrap. Enjoy! They are really good and easy to make and wrap for a no guilt quick lunch! 

Approximate cost: $6 for about 6 wraps

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food, Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oh so good veggie hummus wraps

  1. andy1076 says:

    Hummus…best creation on the planet 🙂 love the healthy options that come with it especially like this!

  2. I have never use humus on a wrap or sandwich only as a dip. I might have to give that a try. 🙂

Leave a Reply

