10:30 pm kale chips & wrap

 

Mr. inpursuitofrealfood, Chris, gets home from school around 10:30pm. We were both lazy, or maybe just satisfied from our blue smoothies we never bothered to have dinner before he left. So, we ate at 10:30pm. These things happen. It’s not like we were dining on cheeseburgers and fries right? That’s me justifying the situation. Also, I might add, if you eat a large meal right before bed, the fact that nightmares invade your dreams is not a myth! It’s been a while since being reminded of that fact.

So, this morning I awoke in a panic coupled with fear and sadness because we had been  overseas somewhere questioned by authorities all night. Chris had been locked up with a male accomplice for smuggling drugs, somehow they let me go even though I had a bunch in my purse? (Maybe because I’m female?) I awoke with the deep dread of not being able to see him again until his 15 year stint in prison in some country was over. Um…so yeah…no more food late late late at night.

We ate the last of the veggie wraps with hummus, only I added black-eyed peas and goat cheese to them. I have also been wanting to try these kale chips I saw in a health magazine I had picked up sometime in this last year. I’m constantly roasting vegetables and making my own corn tortilla chips so this seemed only natural. Since I have plenty of kale from the random juices I decided to try it. One thing, as soon as Chris took one bite of one the chips he said this, “this is the best $u#*%!& chip I’ve ever had.” Really? I wasn’t expecting that. Um, yeah, they were pretty great! When you have an addiction to crispy baked chips like I do, this was just another heavenly crunch fest. They were also surprisingly juicy in a really weird, really good way.

 

Recipe:

  • A huge bunch of kale
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • cheese
  • 375 degrees for about 15 minutes

You want to tear the leaves off of the stalk, you don’t want to use the stalk. I threw them in  bowl to toss with the olive oil and kosher salt. To me this uses all of the olive oil instead of wasting it by drizzling it on a pan. Next, just lay them out on a sheet pan and sprinkle with cheese. Bake at 375 for about 15 minutes. If you’ve ever sauteed cheese on high heat in olive oil to get little pieces of abstract hard fried cheese, this is what happens to the kale chip. You have this carmelized cheese that’s almost burnt and super tasty clinging to the kale.

Approximate cost: Kale is cheap, you can find a huge bunch for around $1.50

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food, Snacks & Drinks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 10:30 pm kale chips & wrap

  1. Yum! I am going to try this!

  2. Naz Kovacs says:

    I love kale chips best thing ever!

Leave a Reply

