World’s best oatmeal week…

Monday: Steel cut oats, bananas, cranberries, raisins, vanilla almond milk, rolled oats and rye, sunflower seeds, flax seeds, blue agave

Tuesday: The only exception: Uncle Sam’s Toasted Whole wheat flakes & flax seed cereal, bananas, flax and raisins, almond milk

Wednesday: Steel cut oats, flax seeds, vanilla almond milk, blueberries, a mix of rolled oats and rye, sunflower seeds, dried apples and blueberry honey

Thursday: Steel cut oats, strawberries, blueberries, vanilla almond milk and agave

Friday: Steel cut oats, mix of rolled oats & rye on top, vanilla almond milk, sunflower seeds, flax seeds, pear and blueberries and blueberry honey and almonds

Saturday: Um, this one could be called ‘pretentious’. I was just trying to take a pretty picture:) Steel-cut oats, peanut butter, raisins, bananas, oats and agave.

Sunday: Steel-cut oatmeal, strawberries, bananas, almonds, almond milk, agave, flax seeds.

This week I had oatmeal for breakfast poured from a bag that states, ” World’s Best Oatmeal.” It’s pretty darn good. We have all heard steel-cut oats are the best for you, when compared to instant. Of course. An interesting thing I learned. I woke up groggy following the recipe line by line until at the very end it stated, ” Serves 4 hearty bowls” What?! That’s what I get for jumping right in. I was hoping it would keep until the next day. It just so happens, it SO does! This oatmeal is done in 20 minutes and is so worth it. What I found was you can definitely make it ahead of time and just heat up the next day. Very cool. And for me, if I’m going to eat breakfast, I’m going to EAT breakfast! This yielded two bowls if you ask me:)

So, want a reminder of why oatmeal is good for you, I found this online. This mainly pertains to instant oatmeal.

  • Over 40 studies show that eating oatmeal may help lower cholesterol and reduce the risk of heart disease. It takes 3/4 cup of oatmeal each day to help lower cholesterol. The soluble fiber in oats helps remove LDL or “bad” cholesterol, while maintaining the good cholesterol that your body needs. In January 1997, the Food and Drug Administration announced that oatmeal could carry a label claiming it may reduce the risk of heart disease when combined with a low-fat diet.
  • The soluble fiber in oatmeal absorbs a considerable amount of water which significantly slows down your digestive process. This result is that you’ll feel full longer, i.e. oatmeal can help you control your weight.
  • New research suggests that eating oatmeal may reduce the risk for type 2 diabetes. In fact, the American Diabetes Association already recommends that people with diabetes eat grains like oats. The soluble fiber in these foods help to control blood glucose levels.
  • With the exception of certain flavored varieties, the oats found in your grocery store are 100% natural. If you look at the ingredients on a canister of rolled oats, you will usually see only one ingredient… rolled oats.
  • According to recent studies, a diet that includes oatmeal may help reduce high blood pressure. The reduction is linked to the increase in soluble fiber provided by oatmeal. Oats contain more soluble fiber than whole wheat, rice or corn.
  • Oatmeal contains a wide array of vitamins, minerals and antioxidants and is a good source of protein, complex carbohydrates and iron.
  • The fiber and other nutrients found in oatmeal may actually reduce the risk for certain cancers.
  • Oatmeal is quick and convenient. Even when cooked on the stove top, both old-fashioned and quick oats can usually be made in less than 10 minutes. And what about instant oatmeal… a hot breakfast in under a minute… incredible

Why are steel-cut oats better for you?

  • By definition, steel-cut oats are the groats (insides of whole grain oats) chopped into 2 or 3 pieces per groat. Compared to regular oats known as rolled oats, they have typically undergone less processing and therefore have retained more of their nutrition and texture. Rolled oats have been steamed and toasted and resteamed before they hit your pot to be cooked once again whereas steel-cut oats have only been cut and still have a layer of bran.

Many people claim they don’t like oatmeal because it takes too long and it doesn’t taste good. What?! This isn’t the 1950’s, don’t put butter and sugar in your oatmeal. And read the package, don’t buy those cheap packets ready in a minute that is so overprocessed and contains so much sugar and salt in the pack. Yes, those are gross.

There are so many options to put into your oatmeal like, cinnamon, nutmeg, brown sugar(moderation), honey, agave, soy milk, real maple syrup, almond milk, vanilla, vanilla almond milk, milk, any fresh fruit, any type of nut or seed, the list goes on and on….

Approximate cost for a bag of Bob’s Red Mill Steel Cut Oats: $3 for 15 servings

Nutrition facts per serving: Calories 170, Calories from fat 25, Total fat 3g, Sat fat 0.5 g, cholesterol 0, sodium 0, carbs 29, dietary fiber 5g, sugar 0, fiber 7 g, calcium 2%, iron 10%

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to World’s best oatmeal week…

  1. Your pictures look incredible, and Thursday’s oatmeal is reaching out to me in particular. Yum!

  2. I like my rolled oats. I have the same brand of steel cut oats in my pantry. I ate them once and I never made them again. After seeing your post, maybe I will give it another shot. 🙂

    Maybe I did not cook them enough? It reminded me of barley, which is fine in it’s own right, but in my bowl in the moring? 🙂

  3. Naz Kovacs says:

    Hi there, thanks for liking my post 🙂 Wow your pics are amazing I want all of those now hehe. I love my oats! I haven’t tried the steel cut oats though but will def give them a try.

  4. andy1076 says:

    Perfect balance of potassium and energy generating ingredients! i like! 🙂 oh and is that a fuzzy coat? 😉

  5. Moratoria says:

    Saturdayyyy. It’s calling me. I miss steel-cut oats, I love throwing them in the slowcooker the night before…

    Great pictures, everything looks delicious!

  6. ryesandshine says:

    This is like a dream week for me.

  7. kelbylm says:

    ummmm, friday. pears, blueberries, & almonds! i might have to try this.

  8. Anya says:

    This is amazing! I am very happy I found your blog! Thank you for liking one of my re-blog titled “Fruit Costata.” I will have to try your recipes above. Your photos looks so good but I bet it doesn’t do justice as to the taste of the oatmeal. =) Thank you for sharing! I will probably have to re-blog this also.

  9. Pingback: World’s best oatmeal week… « My Thoughts and Heart on a Platter

  10. I must confess. I have eaten those instant oatmeal packets in the past because they were quick and easy. I found another way of preparing “real oats” to get me out the door quickly in the morning. What I did is soak the oats in just enought water to submerge them overnight, then I would nuke them in the morning and add cream, sugar, and other flavouring. But, nothing compares to real stove top cooked oatmeal. Thanks for reminding me. I will have gold ol’ fashioned oatmeal for breakfast tomorrow!

  11. realfoodroad says:

    Hi! Thanks for liking my post this morning. We have been eating Bob’s oatmeal for a few months now, and it is the world’s best oatmeal ; ) . I might have to try the almond milk, it’s begun to intrigue me…

  12. I have to say I love your tag line. I am an eternal coffee drinker myself. I call it the elixer of life-at least for me. Thanks for liking my post on the bean salad. Looking at the post on oatmeal, I’m glad the weather has turned so i can try some of the variations. i use oatmeal in my granola but have been looking for other ways I can enjoy it.

  13. Pingback: World’s Best Oatmeal-2nd week | inpursuitofrealfood

  14. Shonnie says:

    your oatmeal looked totatly delish! how do you like almond milk?

  15. i love steel-cut oats … i love throwing them in the crockpot the night before … sooo.good!

    btw ~ beautiful pictures!

  16. Mika says:

    Holy Yum! Thank you for the incredible oatmeal ideas.

Leave a Reply

