Late evening run and eats…

I haven’t posted in the past several days because I’ve been so busy trying to get certain things done. We grilled Saturday, which I will post later. I also updated my oatmeal post and added “Saturday” and “Sunday”:) If your interested, check it out.

Usually I am a morning runner. I love to get up and get my run out-of-the-way before it gets too hot and start off my day right. But this week it was hard to get up and since it’s cooler now the evenings are much nicer. So, I went for a run on Monday around 6:30pm figuring I had a good 2 hours of daylight left. It was the best run I’ve had in a long while. All summer I’ve had problems breathing outside because of a fire that has been burning here that refuses to go out. Because of smoke in the air and the heat, it’s been a tough summer to run outside. But when the weather is nice and the sun is out, why would I want to be on a treadmill? ? ? I’ll save that for when I absolutely have to be on a treadmill this winter.

When I got to the park, to my surprise it was packed with people. I don’t think I have ever seen it that crowded with people running and walking. It was also the first day all summer I was running with my iPod. I had stopped running with it for months to see if it would help me focus on my breathing. It did!!! But now I was ready for music again and I hoped it would kick me into gear and help me go further. The fact that so many people were rushing around me on their way got me really excited to run. I mean you had to fight for your space on the path, as it got later the crowd thinned. But it was only a 2 1/2 mile run, but the great part was I never stopped once. It was really good and I needed it. And I’m only guessing my distance, I really need to get a Garmin. I talked to someone a while back that said I am running farther than I think I am. I guess I just need to go ahead and splurge so I can keep track of what I’m doing. But running 40 minutes non-stop was a new plateau for me(lately).

When I got home I made another corn tortilla pizza thing with the last of the hummus, grilled veggies consisting of eggplants, green peppers, squash and onions(from a veggie sandwich I make-will post later), 2 eggs, cheese and some sour cream and hot sauce. Again, it really hit the spot after a great run:)

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food, Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

