Saturday grillin’…

Probably one of the last weekends grilling out, maybe. So when we grill we usually grill more fruits and vegetables than anything. I personally don’t eat red meat and if I’m having a hotdog, it’s usually a turkey dog and my burger has always been a turkey burger. For the last several years it’s just been plenty of chicken and fish. But, I’m slowly headed away from those too, so we shall see. Chris isn’t though, so if wants steaks or ribs on occasion he gets steaks and ribs:)

This is going to be a looooong post. Usually when we grill, we grill a lot of food, usually enough to last through the week. This is what I grilled Saturday.

  • ribs
  • pita pizzas
  • chicken
  • artichokes
  • apricots & peaches
  • pineapple
  • watermelon

Usually I grill eggplant also, but it was just too much, so I roasted that inside and made stuff for eggplant spread and veggie sandwiches.

Barbecued Ribs for Chris


Pita Pizzas

  • sweet corn, ham, mint, almonds, little bit of goat cheese & olive oil
  • olive oil, spinach, oregano, basil, portabellas, mozzarella
  • yellow squash, olive oil, basil, goat cheese & walnuts

Just put whatever you want on a whole wheat pita. They did grill/char/burn pretty fast, so fast the cheese really didn’t get time to fully melt. So, just need a different bread choice next time. I’ve grilled whole wheat tortillas before to make sort of quesadilla, and they were so good and crispy.

Chicken

All I did was throw a whole package of organic drumsticks in a bowl, drizzled some olive oil, honey mustard and a mix of chopped rosemary and basil on them, mixed and let them stand for like 15 min. They grill soooo great and are always way too good.

Artichokes- why not…they were on sale.

Boil them in lemon water (juice of one lemon to a pot of water, cover with lid) first for about 20 minutes. Remove the choke, season and grill until charred, yum!

Grilled pineapple – everytime we grill, just has to be done.

Apricots and peaches are one of my favorites to grill because they taste like a treat from some far away magical land. Really. This time I wanted to add something to them to make them even more of a treat. Whipping cream in the fridge leftover from something and I had goat cheese…sooo…  If you have ever made flavored whipping creams from scratch or crème fraiche this is very similar. So I whipped together 6 oz of goat cheese, some agave and a couple of cups of whipped cream. It was heavenly!

And, been hearing all these rumors about grilled watermelon. So I grilled it with a tiny bit of honey. It was yummy, the taste of the watermelon was totally transformed and kicked up a notch.

And last but not least, some eggplant spread since I had so much of it.

So, I used probably 2 eggplants roasted, 2 green bell peppers, one red onion roasted, 4 cloves garlic, s & p, 1/2 t of cayenne, 2 t of toasted sesame oil, juice from 1/2 lemon, and enough olive oil to get it to a nice consistency. Of course, throw it all in a food processor and your done! It was really, really good.

 

While I’m here with all this roasting stuff. Ever roasted garlic? It’s easy. Put a huge piece of garlic on a piece of foil, pour some olive oil on top and close foil tightly so air can’t get in. Roast in oven on high heat, 400 degrees for maybe 20-30 minutes. This was easy since I was doing all this anyway.

Enjoy…

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Saturday grillin’…

  1. Leesah Em says:

    This made me so hungry and made my lunch look completely unappetizing! Lol!

  2. Wow you really grilled up a storm! I’ve never thought to grill watermelon- I’ll have to trick a friend into grilling it up for me!

  3. Oh my goodness! You were a busy lady! I have never grilled fruit before. It always looks so good! I just end up eating it raw. 🙂

  4. this spread looks amazing!!!

  5. thanks for this. i never thought to grill fruits … esp watermelon! that was the topper. and i loved how you just quickly whipped up some eggplant spread!

  6. Heroic job of grilling! Beautiful!

  7. Carina says:

    What a spread of such delicious looking food. I just finished lunch and I think I’m hungry…AGAIN! 🙂 Lovely blog.

  8. btypes says:

    Grilled watermelon!? Yum.

Leave a Reply

