Snacks I love…

Ask anyone from where I just graduated and they will tell you for the past few years my purse was always filled with goodies. Where else are you supposed to get nourishment from? The vending machine? ugh. They were always laughing because all types of food and sandwiches would always emerge from my purse. And, for good reason. I’m not the type that can go all day hungry. It’s strange but I start to get really sick, my stomach bloats up and feel horrible when I get hungry. I would always eat breakfast before I left (usually a whole wheat sandwich with three eggs and cheese) but was hungry soon after I arrived. When you’re at school all day 5 days a week there is not much to pick from to eat. I’m sure it’s the same if you work full-time somewhere. I never wanted to leave to get food, I would lose my awesome parking space I showed up at 7:30am for. If I did leave there was just a smorgasbord of fast food places. ew! Places on campus didn’t have much to pick from either- it was Chick-fil-a (always fried to a dark, inedible rock), quiznos (gross), or the cafeteria …you get where I’m headed. The places where you might be able to find something edible was way across the street, something I never wanted to deal with and didn’t have time for.

So because of all that I always had a great abundance of granola and breakfast bars smashed in my purse. Mainly an assortment of Kashi bars (peanut butter is my favorite) and fruit bars.

http://www.kashi.com/products/chewy_granola_bars_peanut_peanut_butter

http://www.kashi.com/products/chewy_granola_bars_honey_almond_flax

http://www.kashi.com/products/tlc_cereal_bars_ripe_strawberry

And also ziploc bags of their cereals(which I am addicted too). I really only eat Kashi cereals, their the only thing that tastes good to me. These are my absolute favorites below, the others are…kind of okay, barely.

http://www.kashi.com/products/kashi_whole_wheat_biscuits_autumn_wheat

http://www.kashi.com/products/kashi_whole_wheat_biscuits_cinnamon_harvest

http://www.kashi.com/products/strawberry_fields_original

http://www.kashi.com/products/heart_to_heart_cereal_oat_flakes_wild_blueberry_clusters

 There was also bags of nuts and trail mix. Cheese and crackers would emerge. Sandwiches as well as apples and pears. I always had two huge bottles of water with me(my own- we don’t purchase bottled water) and an occasional energy drink. The only place I did frequent often was Starbucks. ( I swear they put something in their coffee in person that will keep you alert for days, I think it might be crack, hence their nickname ‘crackbucks’.) ((But, as I say, in moderation. I can’t handle a lot of starbucks, if I drink it back to back my face breaks out insanely easy and my stomach gets really messed up)) And I always ordered just coffee, I think I remember my total always being $1.64? Coffee, milk and sugar is all I need, no $5 drink nonsense packed with syrups, whipped creams, sugar and more sugar.

So, anyways, these are really good snacks I like that will hold you for long periods.

Almonds, of course. These are addictive and I find them for $5 at Target and they will last you, especially if you have many snacks to pick from. I get them when they are on sale usually (less than $5). I’ve been eating almonds for snacks for a long time, maybe like 5- 6 years now. You can also buy huge bags in the baking aisle of your grocery store, it’s the same thing just unsalted and usually cheaper. These are lightly salted, but plain is really really good.

I think everyone knows the two nuts that are insanely good for you are almonds and walnuts. Want a reminder on why almonds are so good for you?

Nutrition and Calories in Almonds

The nutritional benefits of almonds alone warrant adding a handful or two to your daily diet. Below you will find a nutritional breakdown for one ounce of almonds.

Calories 161
Total Fat 14g
Saturated Fat 1g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 0mg
Total Carbohydrates 6g
Fiber 3g
Sugar 1g
Protein 6g
Vitamin E 37%
Riboflavin 17%
Calcium 7%
Magnesium 19%
Phosphorus 14%
Potassium 22%
Zinc 22%
Copper 54%
Manganese 123%

Overview

The next time you’re feeling hunger pangs between meals, don’t reach for a bag of potato chips — instead, eat a handful of almonds. Almonds are tree nuts that are packed with nutrients, and not only do they make a tasty snack, but they provide a variety of proven health benefits as well. Talk to your doctor before you include almonds in your diet, especially if you have allergies or health conditions.

Full of Healthy Fats and Omega-3

A 1-oz. serving of almonds — or about 24 almonds — contains approximately 14 g of fat. Most of this is healthy fat — monounsaturated fat and polyunsaturated fat, as opposed to saturated fat. Polyunsaturated and monounsaturated fats don’t clog the arteries the same way saturated fat does. Instead of collecting in the bloodstream along the artery walls, healthy fats collect the saturated fat and remove it from the bloodstream, lowering low-density lipoprotein, or bad cholesterol. Consuming healthy fats also raises your levels of high-density lipoprotein, or good cholesterol, which helps reduce your risk of developing heart disease. Additionally, almonds contain omega-3 fatty acids, which could reduce irregular heart rhythms and prevent a heart attack. Linda Vorvick, MD of the University of Washington School of Medicine recommends getting between 20 and 35 percent of your daily calories from fat and sources of polyunsaturated and monounsaturated fats, like almonds.

Almonds are packed with lean protein. A 1-oz. serving contains 6 g of protein, but only a negligible amount of saturated fat. In the article “Healthy Diet: End the Guesswork With These Nutrition Guidelines,” MayoClinic.com recommends that adults consume between 50 and 175 g of protein per day, and eating almonds is a healthy way to achieve this goal. Almonds are a nutritious option for vegetarians, because adding them to salads, rice, oatmeal and yogurt will increase the protein count of the meal. A high-protein snack, like a handful of almonds, helps curb the appetite with minimal calories. A 1-oz. serving of almonds contains approximately 170 calories per serving.

Milk Substitute

Almonds aren’t only a nutritious snack; they’re also the main ingredient in almond milk, a lactose-free milk substitute. Almond milk is a creamy, white beverage that is added to cereal, recipes or consumed by itself as a drink. Like almonds, almond milk is high in protein and healthy fats, but it’s also a nutritious substitute for cow’s milk. Almond milk contains nearly half the fat of whole milk, and most of this fat is polyunsaturated and monounsaturated fat, rather than the saturated fat found in cow’s milk. Almond milk contains no lactose, so it is a healthy substitute for individuals who are unable to drink cow’s milk due to lactose intolerance.

High in Fiber

Eat a 1-oz. serving of almonds and you’ll get approximately 3 g of fiber. Because fiber adds bulk to your stool and takes longer to digest, almonds make you feel full and satisfied for longer periods of time. Women should consume between 22 and 28 g of fiber per day, while men should consume 28 to 34 g of fiber per day, notes MayoClinic.com. Although you probably won’t get all the fiber you need from nuts, almonds may help you consume less if you eat them as a snack when you’re feeling hungry throughout the day.

Info taken from: http://www.livestrong.com/article/508824-why-are-almonds-so-good-for-us/

Another snack

A great alternative to potato chips. These are really good and many companies make them now in all kinds of flavors.

 http://www.genisoy.com/products/snacks/soy-crisps/  creamy ranch is my fav

Another snack

Oceanspray Craisins Fruit and Nut Trail mix is also a favorite. It has banana chips, coconut, cashews, dried cranberries and papaya, pineapple & peanuts. Also their dried cranberries are really good if you want to make your own trail mix. All their other dried fruits are too sweet for me, I like a mix and some crunch.

Another snack idea

Another all time favorite is walnuts and cheese cubes. You can buy cheese cubes in a bag even though they are usually overly processed cheese. Or you can buy blocks and cube them yourself. But throw some walnuts and a mix of sharp cheddar cheese and white cheese in a bag and it’s heaven when your hungry and sure beats some mystery meat burger with greasy fries.

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

