A Sushi Craving

I wanted sushi for the last few days and didn’t feel like throwing down 60 bucks for it. I know you understand. However, it did not hit the spot. Are we sushi-ed out? I think that is possible, it happened last year too right around the weather change. When its cold, wet and dreary outside you don’t necessarily want some semi-cold sushi. Plus, I really didn’t feel like making it, but I wanted it, so…

Ingredients/Recipe:

  • Toasted seaweed
  • sushi rice
  • shrimp(this was bad and had to be returned to the store:( so no shrimp
  • avocado
  • green onion
  • smoked salmon
  • cucumber
  • romaine
  • sesame seeds
  • ginger, soy & wasabi
  • masago

A note:  a good way to learn how healthy something is, is to make it. My stomach was already bothering me a little because of some virus going around. To be honest, the amount of sugar and salt that already goes into the sushi rice was irritating me as well as the amount of sodium in my almost gone bottle of full-salt soy sauce. It just didn’t feel like a clean healthy dish I was really craving. And then, I actually found masago this time at the grocer and purchased it quickly because people were waiting for me in line. When I got home I saw the ingredients weighed more on the high fructose corn syrup, monosodium glutamate and FD & C yellow #5. Gross?! I know it was just the grocer I purchased it from but that’s getting tossed in the trash. So I did use a little since I had been looking for it so long, but that was disturbing. It actually dyed little parts of the plate bright orange. O well- live and learn right? That is definitely not what I’m used to eating at our favorite sushi restaurant.
This brings up a good subject though about reading labels and when eating out it’s good to ask how the meal is prepared and what comes on it. I always get surprised. For instance, we went out to a restaurant yesterday and my husband actually ordered a sweet potato with his meal. I thought, how cool they offer that option instead of a white potato. But, when it came to the table, sadly it had a huge ice cream scoop of a butter/cream slammed down on it nestled in a huge pile of brown sugar. I had a little taste (of nothing but sugar and oil), it was too bad you couldn’t taste the wonderful thing that is a sweet potato sans ‘fill in the blank’ when it’s cooked correctly.

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Sushi Craving

  1. andy1076 says:

    Great display 🙂 i tend to make the rice a little too light and it falls apart but you got it just right! nice 🙂

Leave a Reply

