Kombucha & Soy Chips…

So this was my energy this weekend with a snack. This is probably a good thing since my husband is sick and I’m beginning to feel a little under the weather…again. Last week it was stomach thing and this week it feels like a cold. I already did a post on Kombucha so I’ll probably just repost a little from that.

I will say I liked the Mango Kombucha better than the green. The green is…well…green. Like any green drink, they are stronger in taste and this one had a  very potent vinegar nose (ha), which turned me off a little. But, it was good, I just prefer the mango instead. Also, this one could not be gulped voraciously the second day. It just wasn’t happening, the smell took on another life form so I tossed it. It’s a fairly large bottle so I usually try to get 2 servings out of it.

The only thing I haven’t got the hang of yet is opening the bottle. It is naturally effervescent. The first time I got one I did actually shake it a little because I saw settlement at the bottom and got sprayed. 🙂 This time I was very careful, and opened slowly in the car and it became clear to me it wasn’t happening. So I waited til I got home set it on the counter for a while and tried again. After 10 minutes I just said, who cares! It continued to froth and effervesce all over the counter for like 5 minutes, the bottle was still pretty full though.    ?help? 

So ingredients in this bottle contained: 100% organic raw kombucha, klamath mountain blue-green algae, spirulina, chlorella and probiotics. I ingested almost 2 billion organisms, cool, and an abundance of antioxidants. My stomach was all better after this I might add.

Kombucha: If you try to find information on kombucha, you will find it is referred to as a mushroom elixir of sorts or a tea. Kombucha promotes good health, it’s an excellent detox, enhances your immune system. Kombucha has been proven to be a successful therapeutic drink, made from sweetened tea into which a culture (bacteria & yeasts) is placed.

  • Kombucha is a fermented drink that has gained popularity in the U.S. because of the health benefits. Its fermentation process creates a product rich in B vitamins, vinegar, protein as well as raw enzymes and probiotics.
  • Kombucha products are raw and organic, meaning that the kombucha is never heated and all ingredients are produced without pesticides, genetic modification, radiation, sewage sludge or synthetic fertilizers. Natural flavors are often added to make the kombucha more palatable and include orange, ginger and cayenne.
  • Kombucha is touted as remedying hair loss, preventing cancer, improving digestion, boosting your immune system and improving energy levels. Since kombucha is never heated, it contains live cultures that are thought to have a probiotic effect. Vital vitamins, minerals and organic compounds are also preserved.

Approximate cost: One bottle was $4.19

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food, Snacks & Drinks and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kombucha & Soy Chips…

  1. andy1076 says:

    Interesting, though the price might be a lil too rich for me for a drink 😦

    • Yeah, they are a little high, but I do make this drink last two days. (2 servings-even though I did throw most of day #2 out:) So, for me 2 bucks a serving is okay as an ‘every once in awhile drink’ 🙂

  2. I’m still too nervous to try Kombucha, but I’ve heard nothing but great reviews about it! It’s kind of nice to see the actual breakdown of it though.

  3. The green is my abosolute favorite! Maybe you got a bad batch. I have never had one that tastes like vinegar. Just a nice green. I am addicted to that one! 🙂

  4. maybe? I don’t know 🙂

Leave a Reply

