Oats and Roasted Veggies…

The last few mornings have started off like this…yum, raspberries are my favorite.

Steel-cut oats, vanilla almond milk, raspberries, walnuts, flax seeds and honey.

Goods scored from the market. (Remember, you can click the photo to view it larger)

Roasted veggie sandwiches had to be made again with everything I got at the farmer’s market. Why? Because they really are that good and can be made in so many different ways. So, I will post a more detailed version of exactly how to roast them for these sandwiches and how they should look when they are done. The last few lunches/dinners have been these sandwiches. When roasting veggies (especially with seeds in them) like zucchini, squashes, peppers, eggplant, those necessarily should not be eaten by themselves as a side dish. Roasted veggies like those are soft and slimy. They should be chopped up and put in with rice or beans or on top of chicken for example. They could be put into a potato salad, made into a spread or put on top of a pizza and then baked. Eating them by themselves most likely would not be a good experience, especially if you have a thing for texture. This recipe is specifically for a sandwich. Other veggies such as carrots, beets, green beans, brussel sprouts etc… are fine to roast and eat by themselves.

Recipe

  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Main Veggies! I like eggplant, zucchini, squash
  • onions
  • bell peppers
  • kosher
  • salt & pepper (very important)

Peel the vegetables. (you can roast them with the peel, but I don’t like the outcome) Cut the veggies into fairly large pieces so they won’t slip out of a sandwich easily. They do need to be at least 1/4 inch thick – 1/2 inch thick. Put them all in a large bowl and drizzle several times with extra virgin olive oil mixing them with a rubber scraper trying to get each pieces covered in the oil. Season with kosher salt or sea salt and pepper. Line a large baking sheet with foil and spray with olive oil cooking spray. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees. When covered, spread the veggies out over the pan. Bake in oven for 15 minutes, turn everything as best you can and bake for 15 minutes more. Done. *  I roasted so many veggies I had to use 2 pans. You don’t want to stack veggies, they will steam instead of roast. Layer the veggies in between sandwich bread, preferably a french bread or a slighty toasted sandwich bread that will hold up and not be soft or get soggy. You can also add meat, turkey and cheese.

* If you’re in a hurry or you want to get a good start you can put your oven on around 415 degrees to get it really hot for the first 10 minutes. Then turn it down to 400 degrees, turn and finish cooking for another 15 minutes.

(Below) This is what the veggies should look like after they are done.

For a nice change for protein I decided to do a white bean spread/dip. This was so super good, especially with some whole wheat crackers as a snack.

  Recipe

  • 2 cans of northern beans (you can also use butter beans)
  • your choice of herbs (I used herbs from my garden: thyme, oregano, basil, garlic chives)
  • kosher salt & pepper
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • I threw in a little balsamic vinegar & white wine because I had it (maybe 2+ T each)

Saute in a pan until cooked through and the beans get a little mushy, approximately 15-20 minutes. Drizzle some olive oil in a pan on medium high heat cook beans, season and then add the herbs near the end. Continue to cook and stir. Pour everything into a food processor. You might have to half it up if all of won’t fit, you don’t want to pack it to the brim. I pulsed it and added more olive oil, water until it was a nice consistency. Taste and possibly season more with salt.

Assemble sandwich. Cut bread into serving pieces. I hollow mine out for good bread to content ratio. Too much bread = poor sandwich. And, the sandwich stays together better and sort of forms a little cave for the good stuff. I spread the bean dip on both pieces instead of mayo. This was a huge flavor factor in the sandwich, I can’t believe how good it was. I also added gouda.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Enjoy!

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Oats and Roasted Veggies…

  1. andy1076 says:

    Very nice! thank you for posting 🙂 🙂

  2. Sarah Marie says:

    that sandwich looks delish!

  3. Looks yummy! I’ll have to try the white bean dip.

  4. Hi, thanks for “liking” my pumpkin bread the other day! Your roasted veggie sandwich looks great. I make “hummus” and digs with black beans and chick peas, and make baked beans with northern beans. I know I have slathered the digs on sandwiches before, but you have brought that back the front of my mind and I will start doing it again. Love roasted veggies (love grilled veggies too). I am looking forward to fall vegetable roasted and grilled. I can see some of the going into sandwiches now too. Sincerely, Emily

  5. minnesotatransplant says:

    Roasting makes ALL vegetables better. I’ve been promising/threatening my husband that I’d make roasted carrot and parsnip soup, and he was very unhappy to hear we were having it for dinner tonight. Until he tasted it! I used garlic and ginger, too, and it was divine! Great post in making the most of veggies! The bean paste is a GREAT protein-packed touch to the sandwich.

Leave a Reply

