Birthday Weekend

This past weekend 10 of us got together and went out to celebrate my husbands birthday. Unfortunately, heavy drinking was involved to the wee hour of 3am. Everyone needs a night like this occasionally. I think the last time we were involved in partying like this was several years ago at one of my siblings weddings. So this is definitely not a common occurrence.

So we met down at the oceanfront at one of our favorite bars. The UFC fight was on that night, eh. Whatever. It wasn’t my birthday was it? Our favorite drink there is the “Hurricane”, a blend of 5 different rums and some fruit juice. The drinks are so strong one usually does us good. Well, my husband had 6 and I had the equivalent of 2. We made a few changes to 2 of the drinks trying different variations, but I still can’t believe he had 6.

So, the eats. I’ve been wanting to try their specialty white pizza for quite some time, so it was ordered. When it came to the table I was a little disappointed because it looked really generic like something you would get at a run of the mill pizza joint. That made me think it wasn’t going to be very good. Wrong! It was really really tasty. No photo of that 😦

The ingredients: sautéed basil, parmesan reggiano sauce, black garlic & truffle oil !

The only thing that confused me about the pizza was they put all that on a white bread crust? ! ? What?! Go to all the trouble with those ingredients, and no multi grain goodness crust? That was strange, so I probably wouldn’t order it again because of that. It just could have been so much better. So we shared that and ordered their mussels that are insanely good. The fight was over around 10:30p and most everyone left because of work the next day. But our party of four moved on to another bar close to home where 6 more drinks were ordered between the two of us and then it was home to sleep finally. I also forgot to mention the water, probably 8-11 waters were shared between us.

I was really proud of us because we woke up at a respectable time, no hangover, no headache just voraciously hungry. I actually felt like a run, seriously. Since we had company though I didn’t want to hold everyone up. So of course, what do you feel like after a night of heavy drinking? Food that is not so good for you, but since we hardly eat it, it was eaten! We went to the Cracker Barrel actually, I usually eat here maybe twice a year with a plate of the not so great food. I got the chicken fried chicken, gravy, mashed potatoes, green beans, okra, and I had 2 biscuits with butter and blackberry jam and more water. I cleaned my plate and felt awesomely light afterwards. After company left later, since it is still raining, I went to the gym to run. I did an easy 3 miles and only stopped because they were closing. It was one of those really good runs where you feel like you can keep going forever, I could have easily done 4-5. So 3+ miles were done in 34 minutes with an average of 10.20 minutes per mile. Not a bad weekend.

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday Weekend

  1. My husband would love your “Hurricane” drink! 🙂

  2. Oh, they are SO good 🙂 What’s your fav?

Leave a Reply

