Mondays Eats…

*Warning: This is a long post*  The weather has been much warmer this week, except for all the rain here and there, so no oatmeal lately. I woke up this morning and pieced this breakfast sandwich together from a few leftovers. It was so good, it was kinda dreamy. So yes, I got carried away with photographing it.

Onion bread(toasted), smoked salmon, two eggs over easy, cucumber slices and a tiny bit of sour cream & chives cream cheese on the bun.

After work, I hit the gym real quick. Had 2 spoons of this yummy peanut butter before I went in. It’s a great tip my fellow runner/hairdresser told me about. It works. I forgot my hat which I always run with, so I was sweating all over the place and it was evident to me I was definitely coming down with a cold. But I did a quick 2 1/2 miles and headed home.

Then later in the afternoon I made a green smoothie for my ENERGY for mid-day. I wasn’t really paying much attention though when I made it because this recipe made 2 glasses. But, I drank both of them because it was good and I was hungry anyways.

Recipe:

  • ice (1/2 cup)
  • 1 heaping Tablespoon of flax seeds
  • two huge handfuls of spinach
  • 1 cup+ or so of vanilla almond milk
  • 2 bananas

After that, I decided I better use the rest of the pumpkin, so I made more pumpkin muffins since they were so good last week. I used the same recipe I posted last week only I switched out the buttermilk and used vanilla almond milk, added a banana, some flax seeds and some wheat shreds from the bottom of a Kashi cereal box. They were good and this time really dense because of my additions. I knew I should have added more liquid, but I didn’t care and they came out fine.

Since I was in the kitchen baking already and getting hungry, I decided why not make pizza? I’ve made tons of different homemade pizza doughs in the past, but one day years ago I was flipping through the channels and Emeril was on. He had just said he was going to make a quick and easy pizza dough, so I watched and it looked great to me. I eventually tried it and it so easy this is my staple pizza dough recipe. I timed myself and this recipe took less than 15 minutes and before I knew it dough was rising in a bowl in no time. The recipe is filed under “Pizza Margherita”.

*A quick note about this recipe. My dough wasn’t very thick, this is because of the addition of mostly wheat flour and most likely the temperature of the water. I don’t mind though, I like super thin crust so it gets really crispy, I make it like this on purpose. If you want thicker pizza crust, I wouldn’t use so much wheat flour and make sure your water is really hot (110 degrees) when proofing.  This is the most important stage of bread making and it determines how high your crust will rise, if at all. Also if you let it rise longer than an hour it will get bigger, but I was hungry and impatient. But, it’s super easy*

Basic pizza dough — by hand method:

  • 1 package active dry yeast
  • 1 cup warm water (110 degrees F)
  • 2 1/2 to 3 cups flour plus more if necessary
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

In a large bowl, combine yeast with water, olive oil, salt and stir well to proof. After 5 minutes, add half of the flour and mix well to thoroughly incorporate. Add all remaining flour except 1/2 cup and mix well with your hands. Transfer dough to a lightly floured work surface and knead dough for at least 5 and up to 7 minutes, adding enough additional flour as necessary to form a smooth and elastic dough. Dough should not be sticky. Transfer dough to a lightly oiled 2 or 3 quart bowl and turn to coat with oil. Cover with a damp towel and let rise in a warm place until doubled in size, usually at least 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 500 degrees F and if you have one, place a pizza stone on the bottom rack of the oven.

Divide dough into 2 portions (for 2 (12-inch) pizzas) and form into balls. Place on a lightly oiled baking sheet and cover with a damp towel. Let rest for 15 minutes, then transfer to a lightly floured surface, shape as desired and roll out to a thickness of 1/4-inch. Transfer dough to a pizza peel.

Yield: 2 (12-inch) pizzas, serving 4 to 6

* Here is the full link: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-lagasse/pizza-margherita-recipe/index.html

 

 

Toppings, in order of application:

  • 1/8 c   scoop of garlic & chives cream cheese with a scoop of goat cheese (heated up in microwave)- spread on a thin layer first
  • A layer of the leftover roasted veggie spread (eggplant, onions, peppers, squash, zucchini)
  • spinach leaves
  • herbs from my backyard (basil, oregano, thyme, mint)
  • deli ham & turkey slices
  • onions (I put them on top so they get almost carmelized and crispy)
  • extra virgin olive oil

I sprayed a pizza pan with Pam olive oil spray and sprinkled corn meal on the pan so it wouldn’t stick when it was done. (and because it’s yummy) Now, watch your pizza, I’m sure you noticed the pizza bakes on 500 degrees! And remember, 500 degrees isn’t a common thing, don’t open the door and be so focused on eating that hot yummy bubbly pizza and burn your face OR your eyes! 🙂 Enjoy!

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food, Snacks & Drinks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mondays Eats…

  1. Lauren says:

    Wow, what a delicious day! I have to recreate that breakfast sandwich. Yum!

  2. 🙂 yeah, I’m still thinking about it, it’s been a long time since I made it. It was left over from making sushi~

  3. Cheryl says:

    That pizza look AMAZING. I’m gonna have to try and make it! YUMMM

Leave a Reply

