Salad & Pizza & Rain

So wednesday was full of mostly rain and then salads and finally pizza. It’s been raining here for over a month which is a bad thing, our house has a little tad of a mold problem here and there. It’s been fixed over and over again but I guess that’s what comes with older houses? This week I have a cold, it’s official. My husband transfered it to me even though we did countless things trying to avoid it. It’s not bad though, I just don’t want to get the kind of sick where your throat is screaming and you get coughing spells for weeks. So, this week has been filled with Theraflu, Zinc lozenges, echinacea, vitamin c packets and tons of water.

So this week, has been filled with morning snacks such as leftover pumpkin muffins, bananas, green smoothies, almonds and Fiber One bars. yum. Since I am sick though I ran to the store right before an impending storm to grab some salads at the local grocer who has a pretty great salad bar. It’s fast, easy, inexpensive and a really good option nestled among all the food joints. So this was mine:

And this one was my husbands:

After those were scarfed down, I had energy to cook some dinner. So I used the other half of the pizza dough I used from the other day. This time I used herbs from my garden and white beans, my favorite for the pizza. Also, the rest of the veggie spread I posted last week. It’s finally gone 😦 This pizza was really good and better than the other one.

Recipe:

  • pizza dough(from last post)
  • extremely thin layer of cream cheese
  • roasted veggie dip, herbs, beans
  • bed of spinach
  • goat cheese
  • extra virgin olive oil

As soon as we were done eating the storm began and the rain came. The rest of the night was spent hanging out upstairs windows watching the lightning show, observing flood levels and hanging out with neighbors outside afterwards. The photos will tell the story below. We don’t live in a flood zone and neighbors that have lived in the area for over 20 years were awestruck with what happened with our area. We were also, all the neighbors around us had their homes flooded with at least 3-6 inches of water. We did not ?

Our back yard 40 minutes into the storm, near the end of the storm we were just an inch away from water in the living room.

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Salad & Pizza & Rain

  1. I can’t imagine that much rain! I hope it dry’s up for you. I want to try beans on my pizza now. 🙂

  2. Casey says:

    That is an amazing amount of water!

    I’ve been thinking about making my own pizzas at home for some time now…I miss having pizza – I stay away from the delivery kind.

Leave a Reply

