$6 Bottled Water

 

 On a recent business trip my husband had to go up to D.C. for a job. He had called me that evening and casually mentioned $6 bottled water in the hotel fridge. I laughed and forgot all about it. A couple of days later when he got back he called out to me while I was making my way down the stairs that the $6 bottle was on the table. I laughed again and thought, the only way it could be $6 was if it was from Italy, just a wild guess. Well, surprisingly it was. I was disgusted but threw it in the fridge until I decided to drink it. You know, I wanted to know what $6 dollar water tasted like. A couple of days later, we we’re joking around after we got back from the park and fed it to the dogs acting like we were rich idiots. And of course, I drank some. To my surprise I realized it was a custom bottle cap. Everyone knows other countries are way ahead of us in design, especially Italy, Denmark, Sweden, Germany, I could go on… But wow! I was seriously impressed with this cap. It had an X cut in it and was designed to close and open when you squeezed the bottle. Water shot into your mouth sort of massaging your tongue as you squeezed the bottle-it was crazy. It was resistant to spills. I dropped it on the floor, nothing. Good design. But,  then again it is bottled water 😦 Too bad good design was wasted on a product that ends up in landfills and the oceans. Then, looking the bottle over more carefully I noticed they were even ahead of us in marking their bottles with directions.

It read: Store in a clean, cool, dry and odorless place away from direct light. Do not freeze.

This is actually very important and many people don’t know about this or haven’t paid attention. This will prompt me to do a post on marks on water bottles as well as other plastics. Most everyone knows the bottles that hold the water are made from oil. Oil of course is put through many chemical processes to make this plastic that houses drinking water. Well, when this plastic is heated or subjected to lower temps chemicals and poisons leech from the bottles and it is ingested. There are studies linking these chemicals to many immune diseases as well as cancer, mood issues and depression. It upsets me, because I know my husband’s company purchases bottled water for them since they work outside. That water sits sometimes in the backs of their pickups for days and weeks in 90-100 degree heat only to have them finally drink it. Same in the winter. People should also know bottled water is being stored by companies in huge warehouses that aren’t temperature controlled.

It’s that same notion again, of blindly taking something from somewhere someone else made and just eating it without a care in the world. It sort of reminds me how people will only have close friends watch their children, they wouldn’t want strangers to, who knows what could happen. Or, how many people won’t go to strangers houses on halloween because who knows what could be done to the candy. But, we’ll all go to the store and throw countless products in the basket and eat them with absolutely no knowledge of the company or their philosophy behind the product.

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to $6 Bottled Water

  1. andy1076 says:

    $6 dollars for water that probably only cost a few cents to make, irony next to the fact that we pay for water 😀

  2. Gena says:

    Awesome post! Really made me think about things.

  3. They used to have that kind of lid on gatorade bottles. They still use it for some squeeze mustards. What is more disgusting is I paid almost 4 dollars for dasani at a local amusement park!

    • 😦 yeah, we all definetly need to come up with better options. What if everyone brought drinks with them wherever they went?! 🙂 It’s just what you do like putting clothes on every morning. 🙂

  4. We are not moving much forward here in Australia when it comes to waste management. We do not have a green waste plan for any major city here. Legislation and what not holds important envoronment bills it annoys me! We have a few things to lean from Europe..

Leave a Reply

