Coffee & Pumpkin Spiced Lattes

…since it’s everywhere. Everytime this season rolls around I hear all the talk about Starbuck’s (Crackbucks as I call them, because I swear they really put something in the coffee in person whether the barista is aware of it or not) Pumpkin spiced lattes. I don’t get it. As I have said before, I don’t spend more than $2.06 there on a drink, I actually have ‘coffee’. But, one time I did try one because of a friend, it seriously wasn’t that good. Their drinks are too sweet for me and the pumpkin spice coffee seems oily to me and tasted a little unnatural. Have you ever taken the lid off your pumpkin spiced latte halfway through drinking it?? You should. I did and never purchased one again I was so disgusted. As my sister explained to me the other day(since she had just happened to take her lid off also and called me to tell me), she said “it looks like someone roasted a turkey in your cup.” It’s a perfect explanation for what I saw too years before. So when I hear all the uproar about Starbucks pumpkin spiced lattes… I say bah humbug.  Take a look at the stats, your heart might skip a beat or three. Seriously????

Make your own! As with anything. Theirs is just tons of sugar and pumpkin spice (and I’m sure some man-made chemicals thrown in for good measure) the same you would put into a pumpkin pie. I finally decided to make a syrup today after thinking about it for weeks. I know people toss in the spices and pumpkin puree right into the drink and blend it, but that didn’t seem like it would come out very good. I decided to make a syrup today, even though I knew it would still be a little grainy and probably not too sweet because of the pumpkin, I don’t mind. Pumpkin is not naturally sweet so it does need sugar. It would be like putting  puréed squash in your coffee. I guess you could strain it if you wanted to or buy better ingredients like a pure pumpkin extract. ooo!

So, I’ve been making my coffee in a blender since the dawn of time, since I began drinking coffee. I used to fool around with steaming milk, but it was a lot of work and putting everything into the blender makes your milk nice and frothy and blends everything together nicely. Everytime I go anywhere and make my coffee or someone comes over and has a cup they always give me rave reviews. I didn’t really ‘get’ that my coffee was evidently not like most people have it every morning until several years ago. So I will share how I make my coffee, it’s no huge secret.

Kat’s Coffee (2 cups)

  • 2 1/2 cups water
  • 2 1/2 heaping spoons of the darkest french roast you can find
  • Almost 2 cups of milk (I measured 1 3/4 c)
  • 1 Tablespoon of Vanilla creamer (I love vanilla and don’t really like anything else)
  • Mix milk & creamer together and heat in a glass container for 1:40 minutes
  • 1 T blue agave nectar OR 1 T sugar (I used to put 2 T sugar in my mix for years, but I have really cut down. The way I look at it though, I rarely have dessert and rarely ingest sugar during the day. So I will have sugar in my coffee)
  • Put in a blender in mix for like 5-8 seconds.
  • Enjoy

I used to put it in a plastic shake jug which also works well, but since then, I don’t use plastic anymore. Plastic heated up leeches chemicals that are carcinogenic. Same thing with reheating food in plastic containers.

Ok, so I will make the pumpkin spiced coffee the same way except pour in the “pumpkin spice” syrup.

So here is what I did, of course you know I altered things and didn’t add as much sugar. You might want to go for it.

Kat’s Pumpkin Spice Syrup

  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree (fresh or canned)
  • 1/2 cup or so brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 cup or so water

Put everything into a saucepan and heat and gently boil for at least 10 minutes until the liquid thickens and resembles a syrup. Stir to keep from scorching and burning. When it’s done as with any candy or syrup making it should thickly coat the back of a spoon without running off and hold its composition.

I added almost 5 average spoonfuls of the pumpkin spice to one cup of coffee. And I also added my regular 1 T of sugar. So to the blender of ingredients that yields 2 cups of coffee I added about 9 average spoonfuls of syrup, probably the equivalent of 1/4 c. syrup to 3 cups liquid(2 1/2 c coffee and 1 c milk) before it tasted right. And then I drizzled some on top. It was good! However, I want to do some tweaking to the recipe. It will thicken later in the fridge and will cause your coffee to thicken. I think the only way around this is to strain the mixture after your done. But, if you don’t mind, drink up.

All I could think of though was drizzling that syrup into my oatmeal tomorrow morning, on top of ice cream or into a cheesecake. Yum!

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Drinks, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Coffee & Pumpkin Spiced Lattes

  1. Yum, can you send some of that syrup my way???

  2. Cheryl says:

    I will have to try your syrup sometime!! Thanks for sharing your recipe. I LOVE pumpkin spice ANYTHING, but I agree that Starbucks are pretty icky and has a crazy oily film in it.
    Keep the genious recipes coming!

  3. Oh yum, this sounds awesome! I like all these starbucks alternatives people are doing – I hate that place.

  4. Trish says:

    Good post – I have had pumpkin spice lattes from Starbucks in the past but because I’ve always gotten them non-fat, they always tasted like peaches to me. Gross. This fall, I tried it with whole milk and it still didn’t taste right. I love pumpkin everything though so will check out your recipe!

  5. Oooh that sounds tasty! I think I’ll make some of this tonight! 🙂 Thanks!!

  6. Naz Kovacs says:

    Omg those stats are so disturbing! I try and stay away from Starbucks as much as possible, well in Australia it wasn’t a problem since they went bankrupt and closed most of them down but since moving to the U.S they are everywhere! I was sucked in the other week by the one across the road from work and yes I got the pumpkin spice latte, I couldn’t finish even half of it and felt so guilty after. Now reading this I feel even worse haha! But good to know and will def try out the syrup!

  7. Pingback: Carrot & Butternut Squash Soup (and pumpkin ice cream) | inpursuitofrealfood

  8. Pingback: Bean & Veggie Lettuce Wraps & Pumpkin Spice Ice Cream | inpursuitofrealfood

  9. Pingback: A note on “Exercise” & “Cooking & Food” | inpursuitofrealfood

Leave a Reply

