My Green Energy

Today I went for a late run and might have over did it since I’m still not completely well, but feeling much better. It was such another gorgeous day with the heat that I love so dearly. I can’t believe we’re really headed towards winter. It was so nice today I caught myself many times closing my eyes just to feel the breeze. Closing my eyes while driving, yep, and closing my eyes while running. So, I got home and took the dogs for a long walk at the park and then I went for a run. It was a little more than 4 mile kind of  day. Really good. Ran for a full 30 minutes before I had to stop briefly. Right before I went I had a couple spoonfuls of peanut butter. It really works. And can I just say, I never liked peanut butter my entire life(or jelly for that matter), until I began buying real peanut butter a few years ago. The peanut butter I’m eating now is so unbelievably good it makes my tongue tingle and I could imagine maybe having a sandwich with it. I’ve never had a peanut butter that tastes that good. In the past I’d rather starve than have a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

 

Yes, I know what your thinking. Green and yellow and navy blue???? why??!! I know, it’s kinda hard on the eyes, but this was one of the only cups that are clean right now. And, I’m sure my husband can appreciate this post. Go Chargers!!

So, I’m tired and I need something with some energy so I can run to the store and make dinner. These green smoothie things are scrumdiddlyumptious! I always throw in whatever, I don’t measure things because I’ve been doing it for so long, but this is also a repost. I’ve had this before and probably will continue to.

Scrumdiddlyumptious  Green  Smoothie

 Into a blender throw:

  • Some ice
  • 1 heaping spoonful of flax seeds (1 Tablespoon or so)
  • 2 bananas
  • 2 huge handfuls of spinach
  • 1 cup or so of vanilla almond milk (my fav) but you can use whatever milk you like

Enjoy! This makes about 2 average cups. 2 – 10 oz. cups, yum, yum, yum.

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Drinks, Fitness, Health, Recipes, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Green Energy

  1. sweet!! Everytime I look at your blog theres is a new dish I stare at:) I never imagined a spinach smoothie! this one I will try to emulate since I am a big smoothie fan!

  2. LOVE that chargers mug 🙂

  3. Gena says:

    Looks pretty tasty. I’m really into juicing, and spinach has become a fav of mine. That’s so funny about the whole pb thing, but it does make sense. I’m going to pick some of that up & give it ago. My family has always eaten Skippy. I’m scared to look at the ingredient list!

    • haha! Be scared, be very scared! I’m still surprised on so many products and what’s in them. The lastest surprise though, is aspartame in cough medicines and cough drops. If anything says “sugar free” nowadays I guess that’s what we can expect? I think it’s so bizarre, what the hell is wrong with sugar? We gotta have man-made ‘sugar’ now with no calories? Um, that is just wrong on so many levels and not possible. Kinda like the advertisements for all these birth controls- “Take this pill and have 3 periods per year!” WHAT?! Um, that would be nice, but not natural and shouldn’t be possible. Like that’s not going to cause any problems. Ok, i guess I need to rant on my blog, not here:) Random~ :O

  4. Cheryl says:

    I’m not a smoothie person AT ALL, but I just made this cause I had everything and absolutely LOVE this!!! Mmmmmmmm! Get in my belly. Thanks for sharing. Manuel even liked it! :0)

  5. I can see how the banana and almond milk would actually make this quite yum (I was sceptical at first!). Nice one.

  6. Pingback: Flood, Salads & Smoothies | inpursuitofrealfood

Leave a Reply

