World’s Best Oatmeal-2nd week

When the weather turns colder my thought for breakfast is steel-cut oats with tons of goodness thrown in. I love them, am addicted to them and they hold me through the entire morning. I think one of my most popular posts is my first post on oatmeal, back when colder weather first hit. Check out my first post if your interested:

https://inpursuitofrealfood.wordpress.com/2011/09/09/worlds-best-oatmeal-week/

So, of course when I made my pumpkin spice syrup for coffee the other day, I immediately thought it would be spectacular in my oatmeal (and on ice cream, which it was). I like my regular vanilla coffee- no extra flavorings or sugar. So, this was this weeks results:

Monday: Steel-cut oats, vanilla almond milk, peanut butter, bananas, oats, raisins, honey (The first photo was unappetizing since I squeezed the peanut butter on through a decorating tube so I mixed it up and it looked better)

Tuesday: Steel-cut oats, vanilla almond milk, nectarines, flax seeds, honey. (This was another favorite this week, so good!)

 Wednesday: Steel-cut oats, vanilla almond milk, bananas, pumpkin spice syrup I made (see my post), raisins, oats & rye, bananas and a mix of these pieces of cranberry/blueberry/almond/pecan! This was my favorite this week!

Thursday: Steel-cut oats, vanilla almond milk, pumpkin spice syrup I made (see my post), bananas, flax seeds, honey, oats & rye and raisins.

Friday: Steel-cut oats, vanilla almond milk, pumpkin spice syrup I made (see my post), oats and rye, raisins, flax seeds and walnuts.

Saturday: Steel-cut oats, vanilla almond milk, pumpkin spice I made (see my post), flax seeds, raisins, and orange zest. This one was pretty tasty!

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to World’s Best Oatmeal-2nd week

  1. sheelbeel says:

    I really need to eat more oatmeal but it never seems as appetizing as you make it look. Thanks for all the ideas!

  2. mrmhlewis says:

    Hey! Just stumbled across your blog. Loving the ideas for oats, I’m eating them everyday as part of my training diet. What I have been sticking with has been starting to get a little samey so will definitely be trying some of yours 🙂 hope you don’t mind if I mention some of yours in my blog etc

    Cheers,
    MrMH
    http://mrmhlewis.wordpress.com/category/nutrition/breakfast/

  3. Shan says:

    I’m a big oatmeal fan but have gotten away from it the last year but these look great. I see some steel cut oats in the near future.

    Thanks!

  4. steve says:

    very nice!
    try craisins instead of raisins.
    and which ‘brand’ of steel-cut oats to you use? (i use Bob’s Red Mill Golden Spurtle)

Leave a Reply

