Carrot & Butternut Squash Soup & Pumpkin Spiced Ice Cream

As I was saying in my last post, this soup was created because it was cool outside, I wanted soup (again!) and these were the ingredients that I had left in the entire house for soup.  It was late when I made it, but I knew it would be good the next day after all the flavors marinated together and got happy.

A little bit of reposting…roasting squash is very easy! You either cut everything up in pieces and douse them with olive oil and roast them on a pan, or you roast them whole (halved). So since I was exhausted, I simply cut them in half, coated the tops in olive oil, seasoned them, filled the pan with water and stuck them in the oven on 400 degrees until they were soft. (Until they can be poked with a fork and you can tell it’s very soft, 30-40 minutes)

Roasted Squash in a Pan

  • All you do it cut the squash you want in half (provided it’s not an insanely large squash/pumpkin variety).
  • Pour about 1 1/2 inches of water in pan
  • Place in a pan face up and bake on 400 degrees until soft. Usually 30- 40 minutes.
  • Coat the tops of the squash with extra virgin olive oil and season well with kosher/sea salt and pepper.

Carrot & Butternut Squash Soup

  • Extra virgin olive oil (2 T)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 7 cloves of garlic, minced 🙂
  • A mix of herbs (I did basil, garlic chives, thyme)
  • 4 carrots, chopped
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 6 cups or so of water, just fill the pan to where you want it (or broth!)
  • 1/2 cup cooking wine (white) (also not necessary)
  • 1 whole butternut squash, roasted, and mashed on a plate with a fork
  • 1 T ginger (or ground ginger)
  • Several douses of hot sauce
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan Reggiano- any cheese will do (at the end after it cooled off)
  • Season well!! with kosher salt/sea salt and pepper If your using only water, I’m talking about adding at least 2 T of salt. But taste as you go, don’t throw it all in especially if your using broth fith tons of salt and salty cheese at the end.

Make your roux first. I cooked the chopped carrots first(10 min) since they take longer than onions, then I added onions(until translucent), then herbs and garlic last. (They will burn so add them near the end.  Then add flour, stir, and then add your water/broth and wine. Season very well with salt if you’re using only water instead of broth. Bring to a boil and then simmer until veggies are done, pour in the squash near the end, ginger and hot sauce. This was slurped with a smile over the next couple days. Enjoy!

Guess what we had later that night? That’s right. Pumpkin spiced ice cream. OH MY GOD was it good!

Only the best 🙂

More pumpkin spice syrup HAD to be made~ https://inpursuitofrealfood.wordpress.com/2011/10/04/coffee-pumpkin-spiced-coffee/

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Carrot & Butternut Squash Soup & Pumpkin Spiced Ice Cream

  1. Ooh, love the idea of adding the syrup to vanilla ice cream. I should try that this weekend. 🙂

  2. Your pictures are making me hungry….I’m definitely trying some these recipes out!

  3. That icecream topic looks amazing! Such good flavours.

  4. I am in love with soups and always have carrots on hand! Looking forward to making it.

  5. Sarah Marie says:

    Pumpkin icecream! Delicious! I love butternut soup, your recipe sounds divine

Leave a Reply

