Roasted Acorn & Butternut

 

 Squish, Squersh and Squash. It’s fall! The other night I felt like soup again because it was cool out. You don’t want a sandwich or a salad when it’s cool out?! At least I don’t. But, I haven’t been grocery shopping yet this week, so we are down to the bare minimums. So I wanted soup, but didn’t have particular ingredients for one. I didn’t care, soup is warm, comforting and yummy. We’ve been working on the house lately, so when it comes to dinner time I’m too tired to cook. Soup does take some time, so I decided to make 2 dinners at once. I’ve had an acorn and butternut squash I got at the farmer’s market sitting on my table for over a week now ripening. It was time to use them.

Roasting squash is pretty easy. You either cut everything up in pieces and douse them with olive oil and roast them on a pan, or you roast them whole (halved). So since I wanted to eat the acorn squash whole I decided to roast them in separate pans, only because I don’t have a large pan they would both fit in. (And it takes less time, I was exhausted!)

Roasted Squash in a Pan

  • All you do it cut the squash you want in half (provided it’s not an insanely large squash/pumpkin variety).
  • Pour about 1 1/2 inches of water in pan
  • Place in a pan face up and bake on 400 degrees until soft. Usually 30- 40 minutes.
  • Coat the tops of the squash with extra virgin olive oil and season well with kosher/sea salt and pepper.

So easy right? I had all that done in about 10 minutes and was already started on the soup, which will be next post. I knew I could have soup the next day for lunch and dinner after all the flavors sat overnight. Mmmm!

So, to fill the acorn squash I made some organic quinoa along with some sautéed onions, garlic and carrots. (which was literally the last veggies left in the house.) What I did was saute onions, garlic, herbs, and carrots to make a roux for my soup. After that was done, I just scooped a huge spoonful out and mixed in with the quinoa when it was done. Two tasks at once. Now back to quinoa-

What is quinoa and why is it good for you? Quinoa is basically a seed and has the texture and is cooked like pasta or rice. It’s tiny, the size of millet or a sesame seed. It is yet another option, that’s also good for you besides any rice variety or pasta. I love the texture and the look of it. It’s also super easy and fast to cook, usually in about 15-20 minutes. Quinoa is naturally gluten-free and you can also find quinoa flour to bake with.

Quinoa is rich in protein and fiber. One cup contains 5 grams of fiber and contains almost 200 calories. Quinoa contains lower sodium levels and high amounts of:

  • calcium
  • manganese
  • zinc
  • potassium
  • phosphorus
  • copper
  • (when compared to pasta)

The magnesium in quinoa helps relax blood vessels and lower blood pressure. The fiber is good for your colon, and the manganese and copper are antioxidants that can help prevent disease.

Quinoa has a healthy quantity of iron, which helps transport oxygen to your brain, heart and lungs. An iron deficiency may slow the distribution of oxygen in the body and lead to headaches, sluggishness and irritability. Eating quinoa pasta instead of wheat pasta can help maintain your body’s iron.

Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/348144-what-are-the-benefits-of-quinoa-pasta/#ixzz1aiFk6BzR

Quinoa Stuffed Acorn Squash

  • Roasted acorn squash (Above)
  • Quinoa
  • Sautéed onion, garlic, carrots, herbs
  • Goat cheese
  • Walnuts on top

 

 
About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roasted Acorn & Butternut

  1. S says:

    I so, so enjoy squash. It’s long been one of my favourite veggies and I usually just steam it…but the roasting looks awesome, great pics.

Leave a Reply

