Bean & Veggie Lettuce Wraps & Pumpkin Spice Ice Cream

So, I still haven’t been grocery shopping this week. So last night I whipped this dish up real quick with ingredients left throughout the kitchen. This time I made the organic quinoa with a package of romaine hearts that have been waiting for their destiny on the bottom shelf of the fridge all week. I threw in some red kidney beans (yum) and whole package of Steamed Veggies (which included: carrots, peas, lima beans, corn, green beans). It was a great combination! Actually, I would go as far to say it was intensely delectable. Yes. That’s right. Why? I’m not really sure? The piece that really brought the mix all together in cheesy paradise was the block of smoked Monterey cheese I got at the Organic Store earlier this week. I’m telling you, shop outside of your ‘local grocers’ and you can find some great deals.

(I forgot to take a picture of the loot I scored the other day from there for only $20. I got a bag of organic whole wheat pretzels, a bag of flax seed crackers, a bag of organic corn black bean chips, a block of smoked Monterey, a tub of goat cheese, 2 containers of pacific food soups(tomato & butternut), a package of organic coffee, my akmak sesame crackers and huge bunch of kale.) Carrying on…

Anyways, this meal was so satisfying and had that crispy crunch I long for. You can put anything in romaine hearts, or any large crispy lettuce leaf and I double layers the romaine leaves for more crunch. I’ve made them with rice and chick peas, with chicken for me and steak for my husband. I’ve also made these with endive! YUM!

And, unfortunately pumpkin spice syrup 🙂 (I made, see my post: https://inpursuitofrealfood.wordpress.com/2011/10/04/coffee-pumpkin-spiced-coffee/) with some Haagen Dazs vanilla ice cream had to be eaten with gusto and eyes closed again because I think we were in heaven. I don’t get cravings for sweets hardly ever, but this was so good I wanted more. This time I added some salty pretzels to go with all the sweet! Enjoy~

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bean & Veggie Lettuce Wraps & Pumpkin Spice Ice Cream

  1. I have romaine hearts…on the bottom of my fridge as well awaiting their destiny. Not quite sure what I’m going to do, but it will most likely be around these lines adding chicken as you mentioned above. Thanks for the great idea as always 🙂

  2. Healthy Living Leah says:

    Mmm, those wraps look delicious!

  3. My God you make good-looking food!!! I can’t wait to try this. Question – pears. What to do with them. I love them, I’m cutting (nearly eliminating) dietary sugar other than fruits. Is there anything good I can do with them?

    • haha- Thanks!:) You can do pretty much anything with them! If you think it, you can do it. I love them in salads and cereals/oatmeal inparticular. But they are good as a snack, you can put them in breads, muffins and pancakes. You can juice them:) You can dry them, roast them, poach them, bake them for a different flavor and texture and sprinkle cinnamon on them as well as other spices. Hope this helped?!

  4. Kalli and Bill says:

    thank you for finding my blog! love your throw together sort of dinner….don’t you love when something comes together from nothing? also your ice cream creation looks fabulous!

  5. Wonderful creation:-) and great use of the romaine hearts.. and I love lima beens!

Leave a Reply

