Cheesy Crunchy Nachos

So, a couple of days ago we had a craving for some cheesy nachos. Way back in the day I would make them with Velveeta like everyone does. gross! It never was good to me, never really tasted like cheese. It had that spooky, creepy, pale yellowish-gold color that was highly questionable. But, they did satisfy my craving for hot cheesy goodness over some nachos. So I don’t know what made me do this, but I’ve been making nachos like this for a while. Just taking shredded cheese and putting it on top of a stack of nachos and putting them in the microwave for about 20-30 seconds. At least this cheese tastes like cheese and is more cheese than Velveeta and the like. Regardless, this is all I had in the house for nachos and it is fast! Ground turkey was cooked with onions, garlic and tomatillos and that was poured on too. And I try to purchase baked, organic chips, not the fried ones in the bad oils. I mean, look at the ingredient list. It was pretty good!

Going…

Going…

Gone!

I think you can definitely tell a difference in cameras too! I took these with my small camera, pretty sad photos 😦

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cheesy Crunchy Nachos

  1. I *love* nachos…they’re a weakness of mine. I load them up with avocado and cilantro, too. I found Snyder’s tortilla chips have a really short ingredient list. I don’t have a bag handy right now to actually list them…but I’m pretty sure it is only three ingredients (corn, oil, and salt…I think). They also advertise they are lower in fat than other tortilla chips…and they taste *amazing* (if I do say so myself). 😉

    -Erica

    • yep, me too. I don’t get cravings for sweets, I get cravings for salt and chips and breads. 🙂 Yeah, I make them a lot with tons of cilantro and usually black beans! I’m gonna look for the snyder’s chips:)

  2. JamieAnne says:

    I make nachos the same way. Chips, cheese and the microwave. And a mass of sour cream.

  3. Gena says:

    Yum! Love nachos. Sadly those pics look like mine…with my DSLR lol. Have a lot of learning to do.

Leave a Reply

