Chicken Curry

I decided to make this the other night because it was freezing outside and I wanted something hot and substantial. We also felt like going out, but didn’t have the funds-and honestly…why go out if you can make it better?! More money for all kinds of things like running shoes, more food, christmas, a new coat! 🙂

I’ve also made this before and it’s pretty good and has tons of flavor. I didn’t have time to make my favorite 50 minute rice, so I used a Steamfresh rice/veggie package, ready in 5 minutes.  This is what I did:

Kat’s Chicken Curry

  • Cook 1 lb. (packaged) chicken in a pan, seasoned until almost done. When cool, chop into bite size pieces(you can add 1 c of water to this pan when the chicken is half way done- to me this is chicken broth!)
  • Next, Saute 1/2 onion and 1 green pepper in a pan with olive oil
  • When that is done, veggies almost translucent, add 2 T flour
  • Salt & Pepper
  • 3/4 can coconut milk
  • 1/2+  of a 4 oz. jar of Thai green curry paste (Can use red also, and just a few T- I like some flavor and a little heat!)
  • 1 T Asian Fish sauce
  • 1 T fresh ginger ( I forgot it, but I usually add it!)
  • 1 cup water (or chicken broth- see above, you can add water to pan with chicken)
  • 1/2 of 12 oz. jar Patak’s Mango Chutney (sweet and spicy preserves-it’s like Jelly, I’m sure if you can’t find it something ‘mango preservy’ from the jelly aisle will work)
  • Add chicken
About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chicken Curry

  1. andy1076 says:

    I love curry! 😀 😀

  2. thesweetkitten says:

    Beautiful picture and recipe!

Leave a Reply

