Acorn Squash & Sweet Potato Soup

Yes, more soup! I wanted to try another one like the pumpkin soup weeks ago. I’ve been enjoying this for the last week or so. It was much milder in taste when compared to the kombucha/pumpkin soup, but still satisfying. I added coconut milk (leftover from a curry dish) this time since I’ve spotted tons of similar recipes with that in it and also a huge blend of spices including the pumpkin spices. This soups base was basically one huge acorn squash and 4 sweet potatoes. It was made the same as the others, the squash and potatoes were roasted and then processed in a food processor. The next day I blended the entire mixture in a blender for a smooth creamy soup.

And, as far as running, my husband is still running with me. Monday was a quick 3+ miler. I notice I really take an extreme amount of motivation when the weather gets colder. I just don’t wanna leave the house! I suspect as it gets colder I’ll be making regular visits to the gym.

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Food, Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Acorn Squash & Sweet Potato Soup

  1. Sarah Marie says:

    I’ve been making Butternut Squash soup as of late, and I tried an acorn variety a few weeks ago, but mine wasn’t too exciting. Yours sounds/looks much tastier than the one I came up with. Coconut milk….mmmmm

    • Yeah, but I really didn’t notice a huge difference in adding the coconut milk?! Maybe I didn’t use enough, I think it’s really the seasonings and herbs you can add. Or at least, that’s what I’m noticing in my soup making 🙂

  2. andy1076 says:

    Perfect for the winter 🙂

  3. It’s funny bc so many people were stoked for the fall weather to kick in for cooler running weather after this hot hot summer…and now we’re all having difficulty getting our butts out in the cold! It’s hard to get started, but once I get going, running in the cold is my favorite!

    • Yeah, I’m still going, but then again it’s not really cold yet?! 🙂 I like how once I get warmed up I can take my jacket off and I’m instantly air-conditioned, but my nose runs. I don’t like running when my nose is. haha!

  4. Karen says:

    I love butternut squash but have never tried acorn squash. I try it in your soup as it sounds great.

Leave a Reply

