Thanksgiving Eats

Thanksgiving:  The event that some Americans commonly call the “First Thanksgiving” and was celebrated by the Pilgrims to give thanks to God for guiding them safely to the New World. The first Thanksgiving feast lasted three days, providing enough food for 53 Pilgrims and 90 Native Americans. The feast consisted of fish (cod, eels, and bass) and shellfish (clams, lobster, and mussels), wild fowl (ducks, geese, swans, and turkey), venison, berries and fruit, vegetables (peas, pumpkin, beetroot and possibly, wild or cultivated onion), harvest grains (barley and wheat), and the Three Sisters: beans, dried Indian maize or corn, and squash. The New England colonists were accustomed to regularly celebrating “thanksgivings”—days of prayer thanking God for blessings such as military victory or the end of a drought.

Can anyone guess where I copied that definition from? 🙂 As I write this post I’m enjoying leftover turkey, gravy, sweet potatoes with pecans and a rice/veggie side.

This year, I really wasn’t feeling thanksgiving (food). I declared to my husband that I think I might go vegetarian this year. It didn’t happen. I didn’t feel like cooking a turkey and making all that food to gorge on like gluttons. We actually went to a friend’s house for thanksgiving and brought several veggie side dishes and stuffing. I made a creamy broccoli, carrot, cauliflower, mushroom veggie dish, a stuffed sweet butternut and stuffed savory acorn squash and a huge stuffing dish made from herbs, apples and a mix of pumpernickel, rye, wheat and cinnamon breads.  We both had fried turkey for the first time ever, which was amazingly good when compared to what I thought fried turkey would taste like. So we had a really relaxing day filled with good food, wine, football and conversation. And did I mention 4 pies?! Or maybe 5? I had to try every one and of course so did my husband. Keep in mind, we didn’t really gorge like gluttons- or at least I didn’t. But, everything had to be tasted! Leftovers were sent home with us including a sweet potato dish anyone would kill for.

The next day though I was wishing I had cooked something, so we did trudge to store bringing a 17 lb turkey home to defrost. I roasted it the next evening and we’ve had leftovers ever since. I also had to make a sweet potato dish like hers with pecans (too good), and I also made 12 pumpkin muffins again, complete with a vanilla buttercream and cream cheese icing. My guess, it will take a long while to break tradition, or begin a new one especially with no plan. But, all in all, it was very good and we’ve been running off everything we’ve eaten. Including a pumpkin pie I had to make. That’s one thing with me, thanksgiving is NOT thanksgiving without pumpkin pie. Really a pumpkin pie is all I would need to MAKE thanksgiving, well, along with some alcohol also.  So I thought I would share some random photos from the last week…

Our random runs have been two 3.5 mile runs and one 1.5 run in the park this last week in the evenings.

We had friends over, this is not just between 2 of us! 🙂

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

