Turkey Chili

Chili, just one thing you can do with leftover turkey. This recipe is very similar to the chili/bean soups I’ve been posting lately, but this one is a new one! I just can’t get enough, especially when it’s cold outside. Recipe below.

Today has been a hum-drum, stare at the wall, bored kinda day. I was not in the mood to do anything but sleep, this weather is a downer. What did I need? A good long run. It took me forever to dress, find my ipod, fill my water, retie my shoes approximately 5 times, eat some peanut butter, find my Glee gum(aspartame free gum), find my watch with a timer, dig out a sweater cap incase I froze and then finally trudged out of the house with a bad attitude. Everyone is already ‘crazy xmas driving’ so it took awhile to get to the park, the roads are packed now with the crazies. Today was a brisk day with little wind at about 54 degrees when I stepped outside. That temperature and condition I can still run in. I really don’t enjoy the wind, but it was doable. I did 5+ miles today in 45 minutes. The first time around was difficult and if I could whine and moan while running, I’m sure I did (in my head.) It was hard to push through, but once I warmed up and hit about 20 minutes of running I got a huge energy spike. This always happens with me. I thought I might go around once today but once I did one round the energy hit and I had to go again. I couldn’t wait to get home, I had a HUGE bowl of chili and 5 pieces of my favorite bread!

Turkey Chili

  • 2 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 6 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 6 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 bell peppers, chopped
  • 1/4 flour

Saute all vegetables until onions and peppers are translucent on med to med-hi heat. When those are done pour in flour and stir until everything is incorporated.

  • 3 heaping T of cumin ( I love the stuff- you might want to add only 2 T)
  • 1 t curry
  • 1/4 t cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 t chili powder
  • 1/4 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 thyme
  • 1 T hot sauce
  • 2 cans (14oz) chicken broth (or water, whatever is on hand)
  • 1 cup additional water
  • 2 cans white northern beans (pour into a colander and rinse good)
  • 2 cans black beans (pour into a colander and rinse good)
  • 1 small can diced green chilies
  • 1 1/2-2 c chopped turkey
  • 1/2 c shredded pepper jack cheese

Heat until all ingredients are incorporated and heated through, approximately 30 minutes of simmering. Finally, add 1 1/2 – 2 cups chopped turkey. When it’s done, turn off heat and remove off burner. Add shredded cheese, optional. Enjoy! (And yes, like I said I’m bored today and restless so I’m playing around with type in my photos. I am a graphic designer after all!)

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food, Health, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Turkey Chili

  1. Naz Kovacs says:

    This looks yum! I’ve never made chili before since most recipes I have seen need you to cook the chili for hours! How long did you let this cook for? It seems like the best thing in cold weather!

    As for Glee gum, I heard about it a while ago and just recently our local Whole Foods started to stock it so I tried it out, they stock the tangerine, bubblegum, cinnamon and peppermint flavours, I tried all of them apart from peppermint, and the only one I like is bubblegum. The tangerine one tasted horrible to me and cinnamon was ok but not that great, plus I wish they made the pieces of gum a bit bigger.

    • I’ve been making this for awhile now, usually with chicken that’s already cooked(and the turkey was already cooked). Usually I just heat/low boil all of it for like 20-30 minutes and it’s ready to eat:) I use beans out of a can though. It’s really really good. Yeah, I don’t mind the gum at all. It’s so cheap and better for you, I eat 2 at once. The cinnamon is okay, but all I buy is the green one. (peppermint?) I haven’t really seen any other flavors? 🙂

  2. Huy-zer says:

    I stumbled upon your blog via Savory Simple. Your chili recipe is a perfect way for me to get rid of some leftover turkey! Interestingly, I recently posted my own turkey chili, using ground turkey instead: http://foodiephoria.wordpress.com/2011/11/03/california-turkey-chili/

    Naz, if you want a quick turkey chili check out my recipe above – there is a “Turbo Mode” version that requires very few steps and is relatively quick (about an hour).

    Nice blog! I will be following you. I recently started eating much healthier and need all the ideas I can get! Thanks for sharing.

    • Your recipe looks really good. I was wanting to add some type of pepper to mine also. Also I use a lot of ground turkey was was wondering how it would do in this. I was afraid it might end up too soft and squishy?! I was thinking next time I wouldn’t add any meat at all though for me. Thanks! I’m excited to read more of yours:)

      • Huy-zer says:

        Surprisingly, the turkey turns out pretty good, and I use 99% lean. You can adjust the consistency to your liking when you brown it at first. If you want the turkey chunky, let it brown whole for a few minutes, then break into large chunks. We usually break it up relatively small and let it just cook through – you don’t really recognize the turkey itself but it just thickens and flavors the dish.

        On a side note, if you like sausage I will be posting a recipe for turkey breakfast sausage soon. I used to make tons of regular pork sausage, but have pretty much had to eliminate it from my diet. I was amazed how easily a healthy version could be pulled off with 99/1 turkey, egg white, ginger and sage.

Leave a Reply

