Turkey Pot Pie

Yet another way to use all that leftover turkey. Pot pies really aren’t that healthy, because of the crust of course. But, I always have it at least once in the winter, it’s just THAT good! And, to be honest I really don’t eat all the crust, but I do like a piece of crispy, brown pie crust with every bite! So, I’ve been making this recipe forever and never looked for another one because it didn’t need to be changed! It’s from a very old Betty Crocker cookbook I don’t use anymore except for a handful of recipes I look up every now and then. Of course I made a lot of changes to it, but this is the original recipe:

Chicken Pot Pie

  • 1 pkg. 10 oz. frozen peas and carrots
  • 1/3 c. butter
  • 1/3 c chopped onion
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 t pepper
  • 1 3/4 chicken broth
  • 2/3 milk
  • 2 1/2-3 cups cooked cut-up chicken
  • Pastry for a 9″ Two crust pie
  • 2/3 c shortening
  • 1 c flour
  • 1 t salt
  • 4-5 T cold water
  • Process in a food processor

So, this was my version::

Turkey Pot Pie

  • 1 T butter & 1 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 whole onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 stalks celery, chopped
  • A handful Portobello mushrooms, chopped
  • 1 can 14oz peas and carrots
  • 1 pkg, 10oz brussel sprouts (the store I went to didn’t have any fresh ones!??)
  • 1/2 t kosher salt
  • 1/4 pepper
  • 1/2 flour, 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat
  • 1 3/4 c chicken broth
  • 2/3 c evaporated milk
  • Pastry for 9″ 2 crust pie

Pastry for pies, I do two separate mixes in my small food processor

  • 1/3 c shortening
  • 1 cup flour, 1/2 white & 1/2 wheat
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 2-3 T ice cold water

I also usually do a butter crust, but either one isn’t great for you. This is a dinner enjoyed once, maybe twice during winter for us.

Melt butter and drizzle olive oil into a hot pan, saute veggies (onions, garlic, celery) until translucent, add mushrooms near the end. When done, pour flour in and stir until no crumbs remain keeping med heat on. Add chicken broth and milk and bring to a boil for 1 minute, stirring. Stir in turkey, peas, carrots and cooked brussel sprouts. Remove from heat. Heat oven to 425 degrees and bake for 35 minutes. Enjoy!

 

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Turkey Pot Pie

  1. Huy-zer says:

    Looks lovely! One of my favorite things about cold weather is the comfort of a hearty stew or pot pie. Although we never actually cook any recipes from it, we have a copy of the “Betty Crocker’s All Time Favorites” book sitting on our shelf. It’s worn, tattered and fun to flip through.

  2. Life's a Bowl says:

    YUM! Pot pies are essential throughout the colder months… Would have been a great idea with all our Thanksgiving leftovers!

Leave a Reply

