December Juice Fast

I'm ready! Don't mind the sweet potatoes and squash, you can't juice those!

Yes! A juice fast in december, why not?! Except I’m not going hardcore like last time. I figure this time I will eat mostly raw, semi-vegetarian and include juices for at least the next two weeks to get my energy back up. I’m thinking maybe 75% juice and 25% raw/vegetarian-somewhere around that type of goal. Last time I think I successfully did a juice fast that lasted 6 days and I learned so much about me, health and what food really can do for you. If interested, this was my first post on my juice fast from the first time, it contains so much helpful information if you are interested in doing one:

https://inpursuitofrealfood.wordpress.com/2011/09/01/juice-fast-applepearjuice/

I’ve been thinking about this for several weeks now with everything I ate and drank around Thanksgiving and thereafter. I also feel like that aided in my lower levels of energy and feeling really good. Juice fasts for me are a way to cut back on my coffee and alcohol intake and basically cleanse my system- reboot it. I don’t really do them to lose weight, you will lose your ‘alcohol gut’ your carrying around, maybe 4-5 lbs and get rid of bloating and begin to feel much better throughout a weeks time. If someone really wanted to lose weight you would have to do a month-long juice cleanse in my opinion.

I will go over the basics again though. This link: http://www.doctoryourself.com/juicefast.html is where I got a huge amount of information and it’s what I will outline below.

Juice Fast

  • You need a juicer to make juice! (not a blender)When I say “juice”, I mean fresh vegetable/fruit juice. You cannot buy freshly prepared vegetable juice in any store at any price… unless they literally juice the vegetables right in front of your eyes and you drink it down before they make you pay for it! Any juice in a carton, can or bottle has been heat-treated and was certainly packaged at least a few hours ago. Even frozen juice is not fresh, then, is it? This means that you will need one essential and somewhat expensive appliance: your own juicer.

What to juice?

  • You can juice almost anything you can eat raw. Vegetables are best, especially carrots, cucumbers, beets, tomatoes, zucchini squash, romaine lettuce, sprouts, celery and cabbage. You may juice fruits also, naturally. Freshly made raw apple, grape, and melon juices are delicious.It is wise to peel vegetables that have been sprayed or waxed, such as cucumbers. Sprayed fruits are also good to peel before juicing. Carrots and other underground vegetables often do not need peeling. Instead, give them a good scrubbing with a nylon-bristle vegetable brush while rinsing under tap water. Beets are the exception. Since beet skins are very bitter, it is wise to peel beets before juicing. A hint to save time: dip the beets for about 20 seconds in boiling water and then peel them… it’s much easier. 
  • This is the list I started with : http://jointhereboot.com/reboot-program/recipes/juice-recipes/  They have added many more since then, but basically what you really want to go for are the GREEN vegetables and fruits. You want to get some green into each juice. If all you juice are strawberries, red apples, mangos and pineapple- you aren’t getting what you really need to do a successful juice fast.  

What juices are best and taste best?

  • CARROT juice is tasty and popular, and two glasses of carrot juice per day are highly beneficial. There is no need to peel your carrots if you first scrub them well with a tough brush. Carrot juice is very high in vitamin A. The vitamin A in carrots is actually “provitamin A” or carotene. Carotene is completely non-toxic, no matter how much you consume. The worst thing that can happen if you drink a huge amount of carrot juice is that you will turn orange.
  • CELERY juice is very tasty, but a bit high in sodium. Use small amounts of this juice to flavor the others. Juice celery leaves and all for the most benefit.

    Peel cucumbers, zucchini and beets before juicing! They have a waxy coating applied to them that might make your juice taste bitter.

     

  • CUCUMBER juice is remarkably tasty. It tastes rather different than a cucumber itself. Perhaps you will find that the taste reminds you of watermelon. Peel cucumbers before juicing to avoid the waxes applied to their skins to enhance their shelf life in supermarkets.
  • ROMAINE LETTUCE or BEAN SPROUTS will make an especially nutritious juice with a taste that is well worth acquiring. This “green drink” is loaded with minerals and chlorophyll.
  • ZUCCHINI SQUASH juiced up tastes better than you’d ever imagine. Peel first, and enjoy. You may well be the first on your block to be a zucchini-juice fan. It also keeps the juicer from clogging on higher-fiber vegetables.
  • BEET juice is, traditionally, a blood-builder. In days past, herbalists looked at the blood-red beet as a tonic more so because it worked, rather than any color similarity. Beets must be peeled before juicing. Beet skins are very bitter. The beets, on the other hand, are quite sweet and make great juice. They will also permanently stain your juicer, so don’t try to remove that color by washing. More important, beet juice will color your bowel movements.
  • CABBAGE juice was used by Garnett Cheney, M.D. to cure bleeding peptic ulcers back in the 1950’s. (Cheney, G. (1952) “Vitamin U therapy of peptic ulcer.” California Medicine, 77:4, 248-252) Dr. Cheney’s patients drank a quart of cabbage juice a day and were cured in less than half the usual time… with no drugs whatsoever.  More recently, the American Cancer Society has urged people to eat more of the cabbage/broccoli family of vegetables because of their protective effects against cancer. There may be something to this cabbage juice idea. It certainly couldn’t hurt to try it.
  • TOMATOES are easily juiced. Do not juice the leaves, vines, or green tomatoes. Only the red, ripened fruit is good for you. Yes, the tomato is a fruit. A fruit of a plant is essentially a seed-containing structure that can be picked without killing the plant.

Juice- Kale, Cucumber, Carrots, Lemon & Fresh Ginger

What juices taste best in my opinion?!

  • green apples
  • green pears
  • celery
  • zucchini
  • cucumbers
  • carrots
  • spinach
  • swiss chard
  • oranges
  • lemons
  • beets

Things I found, although KALE is seen in almost every juice, I found it hard to actually get a considerable amount of juice from, it’s so dry! Maybe it was my cheap machine, but the amount of KALE I would put in seemed like a waste for the amount of juice it made.

Green veggies that actually juiced easily were: swiss chard, spinach and collard greens, celery, cucumbers, zucchini and romaine lettuce!

2 very important notes about juicing:

1- Your juice will taste the best if you drink it right after preparing it. I mean within moments! Fresh juice contains a great amount of raw food enzymes and vitamins, many of which are easily lost as the juice sits. So don’t let it sit! Drink it right down, with the thought that this is unbelievably good for you.

2- When doing a juice fast, don’t let yourself get hungry! Always be ready to make a juice when you feel hungry. You’ll be subject to strong cravings and temptations, not to mention headaches and nausea. Don’t let yourself be hungry ever during a juice fast- drink as much juice as you want!

My first juice- A huge bunch of Kale, 1 cucumber, 3 carrots, 1/2 lemon & a piece of fresh ginger. YUM!

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Drinks, Fitness, Food, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to December Juice Fast

  1. Lauren says:

    I have been thinking about juicing for a while – have you seen the movie Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead? It is all about juicing and pretty inspirational!

  2. Lauren says:

    Excellent! I just sent you an invite to Pinterest!

  3. Sarah Marie says:

    You make juicing look good! I am thinking about giving a juice fast a try as a New Year’s Resolution. I’ll need to get a juicer first!

  4. Juli says:

    Wow, this article is nice, my younger sister is analyzing these kinds of
    things, therefore I am going to let know her.

  5. Quality articles is the crucial to be a focus for the people to visit the site, that’s what this web page is providing.

Leave a Reply

