Hearty Mixed Bean Winter Soup

Sometime when the temperatures dropped again last week I made this soup. I’ve had a bag of mixed beans sitting in my pantry since last year that I was finally able to use. These are very inexpensive too I might add- 99 cents for a huge pot of soup maybe 6-8 servings. My husband needs and craves some kind of meat, so I did buy one of those packages of ham trimmings that would normally make your classic “beans and cornbread”.  Another item, that is very inexpensive at $2.87. This soup packed immense flavor, texture and that warm, cozy feeling you get inside when it’s not outside. If you’re in the mood for it, try it!

Hearty Mixed Bean Winter Soup

  • 1 pkg. mixed beans
  • 1 whole onion, chopped
  • 1 pkg. ham trimmings, chopped
  • I sprinkled in a good helping of thyme, sage, curry, cumin, cayenne, garlic
  • 1/2 c. flour (mix white and wheat flour)
  • 2 c. broth (I used water and my 1/2 c. leftover stock from the thanksgiving turkey)
  • 1/4 c. white vinegar
  • 2 T Balsamic Vinegar
  • 1 t kosher salt
  • 1/4 t pepper

1- Soak the beans in a pot with a lid with 2 inches of water over them overnight. (at least 6-8 hours)

2- When ready, rinse the beans in a colander under cold water until clean. In a pot on med heat drizzle in olive oil and saute chopped onions until almost translucent. Add in chopped ham trimming and cook until edges are brown and carmelized. Add spices and stir.

3- Pour in flour and stir mixture until no crumbs are left. Pour in broth and bring to a boil.

4- Add more water if needed, season and let beans boil gently for at least 2 hours. Stir occasionally so the bottom does not burn. I set 30 minute timers to check on the mixture, each time I checked on it I turned the heat down. Enjoy!

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food, Health, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hearty Mixed Bean Winter Soup

  1. d-day says:

    oh this is definitely happening this weekend. maybe I will make some bread to go with! thank you!

  2. Huy-zer says:

    Nice work with the last pic – looks absolutely devourable! Can you tell which beans are in that mixed bag? That’s a pretty good variety. I see: kidney, navy, pinto, black. Not sure which those yellow ones are. Is it me or are there lentils up in there?

    • Thanks~ Not really, I was actually going to write them down, but the bag actually didn’t list them. I don’t think they were lentils, I really don’t like lentils so I know I paid attention to that. However, I do have a bag of lentils I need to use, so I’m wondering how that will turn out. 🙂

  3. Huy-zer says:

    Also, what do you think of making chili with the mixed bag of beans? If there are lentils in there I’d probably say no, but otherwise the rest of that bag seems like it’s money!

    • Oh yeah! That would really work! I did notice a huge difference in the taste of the variety of beans and using real beans and soaking them overnight. Huge difference than out of the can. I think it might have been your blog that pointed that out, I finally paid attention the last few times I’ve gone to the store at the price difference, and I knew with just a tiny bit of planning and remembering I could develop a new habit. Thanks! I also can’t wait to make that chicken cumin chili again with beans NOT from a can. I’m sure there will be a huge difference! 🙂

Leave a Reply

