My energy the last two days…

The past two weeks, my energy has dove down, down, down and I know it’s the weather. (And maybe that turkey) For the past two days, I have guzzled this drink I found in the all-natural/organic section beginning at around 1-2pm. It has helped, even healthy energy drinks aren’t great for you, the amount of caffeine still makes me crash. I don’t think I’ve had any type of “energy” drink in almost a year. But, I needed to try something different, the amount of coffee I’m consuming is doing nothing. Oh, and this drink tastes really good!

I was also running so much I decided to take a break from running last week and go back to some P90X and weights. I’ve been so tired and my mood has been questionable, but I know it’s just “winter”-even though it hasn’t even begun yet. It happens every year, for some reason, I am really affected by this season. No sun = a not happy me. For years I tried to remember to take St. John’s Wort during the winter months, it helped some. So now that I’m not in my young 20’s, I think I might try some SAMe or St. John’s Wort again. I really dislike pills, but I know just having it my system will make me feel more like myself through these next few months and even more excercise. I mean just this last month we’ve had cold temperatures, wind, rain, sunny days almost in the 80’s, rain again, freezing temps, sunny the next day with a front coming in. I mean crazy weather, and I know thats really affecting me. Yesterday it was such a nice day, really hot, it got up to 77 degrees upstairs in the house, within hours it was raining and windy and the temp dropped to the 50’s overnight?!?!?!?!

St. John’s Wort

Originally from Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, St John’s Wort can be found almost everywhere now. Billed as a natural anti-depressant, it has been proven to combat the secondary effects of depression, such as sleepiness, dry mouth and weight gain. Available in capsule form, many people find the herb to be very effective in treating SAD, especially when used with luminotherapy. Flavanoids in St John’s Wort and other active elements like hypericin and xanthine, block the monoamine transporters and serotonin receptors, which make you feel down. But be careful, as studies have shown that it can stop some contraceptive pills from working properly – check with your doctor if you’re not sure. 

SAM-e (S-adenosylmethionine, SAMe)

SAM-e is a compound that’s made naturally in the body and plays an important role in normal bodily function. A synthesized form of SAM-e is considered a supplement in the U.S., but SAM-e has been sold as a prescription drug in parts of Europe for decades. Its scientific name is S-adenosylmethionine. SAM-e is also known as ademetionine and SAMe.

Why do people take SAM-e?

SAM-e has good evidence as a treatment for osteoarthritis pain. Some studies have found that oral SAM-e is as effective as NSAID painkillers, such as ibuprofen and Celebrex. SAM-e takes longer to act than drugs do, but it also has fewer side effects than NSAIDs.

SAM-e has also been used to treat depression for many years. Some studies have found that SAM-e might work as well as tricyclic antidepressants in relieving symptoms. However, many of these studies were flawed or too small to be conclusive.

Other uses of SAM-e have not been studied as thoroughly. There’s some evidence that SAM-e might help ease the pain of fibromyalgia and spinal cord damage caused by HIV. SAM-e may also help control cholestasis — a buildup of bile in the liver — particularly in pregnant women during the third trimester. One trial suggested that SAM-e might be helpful for adults with ADHD. However, more research needs to be done.

Some people use SAM-e as a treatment for other conditions, such as liver disease, Alzheimer’s disease, pain, migraine, and bursitis. We don’t know the potential risks or benefits of these uses.

How much SAM-e should you take?

There is no established ideal dose of SAM-e. For depression, many studies have used between 400-1,600 milligrams daily. For osteoarthritis, 600-1,200 milligrams daily of SAM-e divided into three doses is common. Ask your doctor for advice. Sometimes, the dose of SAM-e is increased gradually over a few weeks. This can help reduce side effects such as restlessness or anxiety.

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Drinks, Health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My energy the last two days…

  1. andy1076 says:

    mmmmm! i’m always wary about energy drinks, they write down the ingredients as 0 sugar 0 calories etc but there’s always something they don’t tell you that’s in there. In my opinion, natural source of energy works best 🙂 thank you for sharing your post 🙂

    • Oh yeah, anything nowadays that says zero anything shouldn’t be touched. haha! They are always hiding one word and replacing with another. But, I was surprised to find this! 🙂 I think this might be okay on occasion, I just wish labeling was still more detailed. I mean i see there are 3248 mg of those listed, but I want to see a breakdown of each one and how they pertain to the drink. But, at least it tells you how much caffeine is in there-most drinks do not list that.:)

  2. Huy-zer says:

    This stuff must really work because you’re on a blog posting roll!

Leave a Reply

