Whole Foods Weekend

This past weekend we finally escaped out-of-town, just two hours away. The focus of the weekend was finding a certain wine/wines, but since I’ve never been to a Whole Foods, that stop was a must. Finally, I know what all the hoopla is about.

It would be great if one moved to my area, that has been a rumor for the last several years. I do have a Trader Joe’s a short drive away, but I must say I’m not too impressed with them. Most of their “freezer section” is junk food and they don’t really offer much more than your regular upgraded grocery store with a ‘natural & organic’ section, however their prices are wonderful. Usually the only items I get there are cereals, breads and dips and sauces. Back to Whole Foods talk…

As we pulled up, I could tell this was one HUGE building for groceries. I was in for a treat. Is that wierd, getting excited over a grocery store and food- rather than diamonds, shoes or chocolate?! Well, that’s me. Just the doors to the place were impressive, they were open to the outside and at least two stories high. The first thing that greeted me was a tower of green packaged water shaped like a christmas tree. Cool. But as I entered and we walked throughout the store, I gotta say I was impressed. There were so many “bulk” bars where you can bag whatever you need instead of buying a whole box of something. Any kind of bean you can imagine, various kinds of quinoa, an array of mushrooms (including some I saw for $200 a pound. Okay?! Everything was impressive, the meat sections- if you like meat. The cheese section was really impressive, I’d go back and spend time there. Coffee sections were awesome, the dessert section- awesome, the bread section-> even awesomer!! The wine section- pretty freaking impressive, especially the wine bar! (watch out Starbucks) The beer section- simply something to be in awe of- I just loved looking at all the designs. You could sample anything throughout the store and we did including wine and some of that amazing cheese. The food bars were great, you could definitely feel a sense of community and meeting spot. People eat at Whole Foods for lunch- nowhere else. Why would you go to Wendy’s or KFC when you have a Whole Foods? There were at least 4 very long buffets offering all kinds of foods. Chris got some kind of asian meat dish, which he said was the best he’s ever tasted. None of that oily, salty, sugary mess you get when you stop at a local chinese restaurant. And I had a huge box from the vegetarian bar, a huge array of lime thai noodles, rice and chick peas, quinoa and veggies and a beet salad that was the best thing I ate!! So good. We were impressed, this is more than just a grocery store. The calender for the store had all kinds of things scheduled including a 10K, cooking classes and other events. After our bellies were full, it was off to seek wine at more stops along the way back home.

I think we stopped at 3 additional wine shops before we found several bottles. It was a pretty good day. Unfortunately, I did not bring my camera and did not even feel like taking photos, just wanted a relaxing day. But, I will post a few:

My energy for the day a Synergy drink. They are usually close to $5 where I buy them, but at Whole Foods they were $2.99. I choose the Cherry Chia this time. Chris pointed out to me while making gag noises that the drink was gelatin like in nature. It was, it was kind of chewing drink and it wasn’t really liquid, but that didn’t bother me. I much more like to focus on what great things I’m putting into my body.

This is what the side of bottle said: “Often called:  ‘runner’s food’, chia is a nutrient-rich superfood that provides sustained energy for your body. Packed with more than 8 times the Omega- 3’s found in salmon, this small seed has big nutritional value. With more antioxidants than blueberries and more fiber than oatmeal, see for yourself why chia brings new life to our GT’s Kombucha.”

Chia Seeds

  • Help weight loss. Chia seeds are popular for weight loss. They reduce food cravings by preventing some of the food that you eat from getting absorbed into your system. This blockage of calorie absorption makes them a great diet helper.
  • Feel fuller faster: They can also help your diet by making you feel full. This is because they absorb 10 times their weight in water, forming a bulky gel.
  • Hydration for athletes: They are also great for athletes because the “chia gel” can hydrate the body.
  • Reduce your blood pressure: There’s evidence to suggest they can reduce blood pressure.
  • Omega-3: They are the richest plant source of Omega-3 (the vital fats that protect against inflammation—such as arthritis—and heart disease). In fact, they contain more Omega-3 than salmon!
  • Benefits for diabetes: Because chia seeds slow down how fast our bodies convert carbohydrates into simple sugars, studies indicate they can control blood sugar. This leads scientists to believe chia seeds may have great benefits for diabetics.
  • They are easier to digest than flax seeds, and don’t need to be ground up.

And my snack for the day! I love this brand, but I confirmed I do not like Carraway seeds or rye bread for that reason.

We did come home with several different bottles including the Chardonnay below. Very good, I was surprised, and it made my day. If you’re a fan of the gentleman below, then you would go on a wine adventure too, like we did.

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food, Snacks & Drinks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

