Juice Fast – Day3

Wow, sometimes it’s really hard to keep this updated. So, long story short, on day 3 of my juice fast my juicer decided to quit. Yes. Black and Decker continues to live up to their name. I still think it was a bargin though, a $30 dollar juicer while you decide if juicing will become a part of your life or not? I know many people who bought one, and more expensive ones that didn’t even last a week and won’t go back to juicing ever- so really why waste A LOT of money on a new temporary toy? So while I wait for a new one to come, or a refurbished one, or whatever, my juice fast lasted 3 days.

I honestly think the kale broke it. The kale, as I have said seemed like a waste to ‘juice’ as it never yielded much juice. This time I bought kale pieces in a bag already torn, and I gotta say, those stems or stalks were SO VERY thick. I probably shouldn’t have put them through the juicer, but I was being lazy. It might also be the brand of Kale purchased also. Regardless, it quit. I (forced) two more juices out of the machine, until it finally kicked and bucked aiming for the floor. Dogs were on high alert, the small one ran and hid upstairs because the racket coming from my juicer in its last hour. So I will share the two juices and the meal later that evening:

And then later on in the afternoon a green juice was started and did not get very far:

And yes, the green color doesn’t really look that appetizing. But, trust me, it’s really not that bad, I really like all the juices and sort of crave it occasionally. I mean, remember, this is a change from what we are used to. This is raw vitamins and enzymes from fresh raw vegetables and fruits! It’s a new way to think and live. Imagine what it would be like if Coke, Pepsi and Dr. Pepper looked like this? This was just what we were accustomed to and what was deemed absolutely normal for 20+ years. And then later as we got older and were told to try this new veggie/fruit drink that was fizzy and a dark brown/black color…

Give in to new things, new beliefs and change! Ok, so later on when we became hungry later we treated ourselves to some melty cheese sandwiches and our favorite organic soups. (I have posted them before, I’m absolutely addicted to the “Carrot, Ginger, Cashew” soup.

Mine consisted of my Carrot, Ginger, Cashew soup with toasted wheat bread, some slices of turkey and cheese.

And, his consisted of Tomato soup with Rye bread, ham, turkey, some slices of turkey pepperoni and cheese.

 

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Drinks, Food, Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Juice Fast – Day3

  1. andy1076 says:

    They say the greener the better and you can never go wrong with carrots! yummy post 🙂

Leave a Reply

