Hearty Flu-Breakfast Update

I’m baaack, after a very long break. It seems a mix of thanksgiving, christmas, new years and a vacation in Mexico was just too much for me. Also, my dog had to have knee surgery, so caring for him has been full-time. But, I didn’t stray from exercise or eating great. Once cold weather came I became fast friends again with the gyms treadmill with my hubby still averaging around 4 miles 3 times a week with random cardio and weights. The past month a half I’ve had an eye problem which remains a mystery and has kept me exhausted with a lot of time spent in the bed sleeping and racking up doctor bills.

Mexico was a great break, I ate like the world was ending and drank way too much tequila, and was entertained at the fact when I got back the scale told me I only gained a pound and half on vacation. It was good eats though, every morning I gorged on huge piles of eggs(that were insanely good) with hash browns(too good to pass up) and plates and plates of fruit with the occasional french toast. Even though there were grand buffets at dinner filled with meats, I don’t eat meats, so a little chicken, fish and shrimp was had with mostly beans and rice dishes with tons of veggies. Even though we drank bottled water the entire time were there, I gotta say I felt awful the first week back in the states. Nothing was working right and I did a lot of sleeping. Many of us did and also some kind of flu virus was brought back and spread around. As I type this now I have the flu with a 101 fever. But, my appetite is back, I just wish I could get rid of the coughing.

So what else has the new year brought? Warm weather! Really strange, I’m not complaining, but it is very strange. Makes me wonder how the summer will fare. Also, my hubby and I were introduced to hashing. Every heard of it?? Google it. All I will say is, it was a dark cold night filled with beer, running, climbing, hiking, squatting, running next to the interstate(illegal?!), crawling under an entire interstate twice through a tunnel, running through a mall getting strange stares, getting stuck on an elevator with 23 people inside, more beer, more running, scratched up legs, mud on pants, more beer and singing mixed with shenanigans all totaling 7 miles of exercise. Did that make any sense at all? Just google it.

Later I need to post this sugar-free recipe I made for this cookies/bar things. After I made them I realized they are perfect to eat before workouts. They are made with soymilk, oats, peanut butter, bananas and more good things. And Chris gorged on them, so that tells me they are really good. For now, I will share one breakfast photo from our vacation in Mexico. Enjoy!

Breakfast in Cancun, Mexico

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Food, Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hearty Flu-Breakfast Update

  1. Huy-zer says:

    What’s your take on eggs as part of a healthy diet? Yolk or no? We’ve been doing egg white omelets for a while and I think they’re delicious without the yolks. I don’t even miss them.

    However, I occasionally still need my over easy or sunny side up egg. Just got back from Hawaii and a sunny side up egg on top of a fried rice loco moco was just PERFECT!

    • Honestly, it just depends on how I’m feeling, usually I do no yolk, however here, I just cracked 3 yolk and all?!?! 🙂 I think they are delicious without the yolk as well, really can’t tell a difference. And yes, these were over easy! Yum, sounds awesome in Hawaii:)

  2. There is no such thing as no tequila! I’ve heard about those hash races- I just need a buddy to be brave enough to try them with me.

Leave a Reply

