My Runners Treats

If you already eat healthy and exercise regularly, these treats are you. Before I go for a run I always hydrate and have a snack, such as a Kashi bar or several spoons of my favorite peanut butter. These treats are pretty awesome, I am still perfecting the recipe, however, I will share the ingredients. I’ve made these several times already and they are fast becoming a new favorite. The most important part about these tasty treats is they contain no sugar. And, I must say they are strangely addicting. As I’ve said before, if my husband will eat them and go back for a second or third, they are successful, especially with no sugar.
The first time I made them with agave nectar, this time, no sugar/sweetener at all, and they don’t need it. I wanted to put together some of my favorite ingredients for a little snack and so far these are it. They are perfect between meals when you are straving and need a wholesome snack or right before a run!

Kat’s Runners Treats

(so far, just ingredients, no recipe)As I have said before, you can easily come up with your own recipes for anything with a little experimenting and an appetite!

  • Bananas
  • Rolled Oats
  • Peanut Butter
  • Vanilla Soy Milk
  • Raisins
  • Flax Seeds

A little note in hopes they don't disappear too quickly:)

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Food, Health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Runners Treats

  1. Ooooh – those sound delightful! I am going to have to whip some of these up and take them to the gym on long days. Like yesterday, I showed up at 5 for self defense class (which is an hour long) and worked out right after. So, I did not get home until around 7:30 – meaning I missed dinner. I usually bring a Kashi granola bar…but homemade yummies sound *much* better! 🙂

    -Erica

  2. These sound great. I will have to inform my brother about them as he is training for a marathon in May and might need a running incentive as good as these

  3. Did you bake these yummy treats?! I have mixed up a batch, but my “batter” is too moist and will not set…so now I’m thinking you must have done something I missed – LOL

    Thanks!
    -Erica

    • oh my gosh yes! I baked them at 350 for 15 + minutes, you gotta watch them! 🙂

      • Ah ha! LMBO – That explains why mine just will *not* set! 😉 Off to bake the batch… can’t wait to try them!

        -Erica

      • Now that I baked them they are absolutely delish!!! I took some to the gym with me and trainers went *crazy* over them! LOL – they all asked for the “recipe” 😉

        I did the math on my ingredients and it worked out to be 90 calories, 4 g. fat (.75 g saturated), 7 g. carbs, 1 g. fiber, and 2 g. protein per treat. Fabulous!

        Thanks again for sharing!
        -Erica

      • That’s awesome! They are good! 🙂 You’ll have to send me your way of “doing the math”. I’ve done it before, and it takes too long to look everything up. I just know I’m doing things really healthy so I don’t worry about it 🙂

  4. Pingback: More healthy runner’s treats/cookies… | inpursuitofrealfood

Leave a Reply

