Red & White Homemade Pizza

 

You can’t fail at bread making as long as you pay attention to the dough and don’t try to bake it when it isn’t ready.

Bread making is another one of those arts that is therapeutic. However, it’s a process I barely make time for.  Homemade bread (like anything else made from scratch) is substantially better than the loaf on the shelf at your local market. There will be no color added or preservatives and is very inexpensive.  The craving for pizza has been screaming in my head, and there is no way I was going to settle for ‘delivery’. (Even healthier delivery)

I thought I’d use my favorite pizza recipe (which I have posted before) and alter it to make it more heartier and with whole wheat flour. I had some millet and wheat berries I had purchased in my cabinet months ago that I never got around to using. Today was the day! These pizzas came out so fantastic! I won’t post the recipe because these have gone down in recipe history with exclamation marks beside them:) You can see from the photos what I put on the pizza anyways. As I’ve said before, you don’t really need recipes to make great food. This was just another “throw together” from leftovers and things I had sitting in the fridge waiting to be used.

So, yes, a hearty whole grain bread was used in these pizzas. It probably takes 15 minutes to arrive at your ball of dough ready for rising. I let it rise on the warm oven for a little over and hour and then began assembling. I can’t have tomatoes, but my husband can, so I made two different pizzas. I began with putting a thick layer of cheese down first, then a thin layer of sauce, plus some basil pesto. Then, I layered my ingredients I wanted on top of my pizza which did include leftover apple slices and peas! Next, I went out to my little herb garden (which, I might add I have done NOTHING to since spring hit. They all just started growing back with exception to the basil) and cut some big springs of fresh oregano. Yum! Everything went on top of the pizzas and they baked on 400 degrees for 10 minutes. Enjoy! I know I did.

About inpursuitofrealfood

I am a real health conscious food lover always in pursuit of real, great food! My journey began way back around 2000 when I realized it was time to grow up and eat better. Fast food was not cutting it and staples I grew up on such as burgers and spagetti were getting old. I also began trying a new diet experimenting with what I ate and how I felt as far as energy levels and keeping my skin clear. Since then it has been a rewarding journey in the kitchen trying new fruits and vegetables and tons of fantastic new recipes.
This entry was posted in Food, Health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Red & White Homemade Pizza

  1. runonorganic says:

    what fresh looking ingredients! looks yummy

    -Jesica
    http://www.runonorganic.wordpress.com

  2. ancientfoods says:

    Makes me wish it were cooler so i could begin baking again.I have nominated you for the inspiring blog award. follow the link for the rules, http://ancientfoods.wordpress.com/2012/08/17/the-world-is-full-of-surprises/

  3. Rayya says:

    I’m so going to apply your amazing tips the next time I set out to do a home made pizza 🙂

Leave a Reply

